subscribe to our newsletter sign up
Takeovers Panel makes 2016 appointments
Where do our A-Gs stand on policing sexual harassment in law?:

Takeovers Panel makes 2016 appointments

Rodd Levy, Herbert Smith Freehills

Two lawyers have been appointed to the Takeovers Panel, while another four have been reappointed for a three-year term.

The Minister for Small Business and Assistant Treasurer, Kelly O'Dwyer, announced the appointment of six new members to the panel and the reappointment of eight current members for three-year terms starting today.

Among the new appointees are Minter Ellison chairman and senior corporate lawyer Bruce Cowley, and Allens partner Chelsey Drake.

Mr Cowley specialises in capital markets, corporate advisory, M&A and privatisation, while Ms Drake practises in the areas of M&A, capital markets and corporate governance.

The eight members who were reappointed for another term include: Clayton Utz M&A director Rod Halstead, Piper Alderman partner James Dickson, Ashurst partner Sarah Dulhunty and Herbert Smith Freehills partner Rodd Levy (pictured).

This will be Mr Levy's fourth consecutive term. According to a release from Herbert Smith Freehills, he is the only lawyer to ever be reappointed for a fourth consecutive term and is the longest-serving member of the panel now in office.

The Takeover Panel president, Vickki McFadden, said: “The executive and I want to thank those members whose terms have ended for the time, and effort they have put into sitting on matters and developing policy for the panel.”

She continued: “We welcome the new members and look forward to their valuable contribution to the panel's work as a dispute resolution body for control transactions.”

The panel has a total of 39 members, all of whom are appointed on a part-time basis.

Promoted content
Recommended by Spike Native Network