Meet the judges

We’ve assembled an independent judging panel of respected industry professionals to ensure that the Lawyers Weekly Australian Law Awards’ judging process is robust and transparent.

For information on the judging process and submission guidelines, click here.

Alexandra Rose

Senior Legal Counsel
Commonwealth Bank

Ali Dibbenhall

Head of Legal, Pacific

Amy Challans

Past President
Australian Women Lawyers

Ann-Maree David

Executive Director
The College of Law

Arthur Moses SC

Senior Counsel
New Chambers

Ashe-lee Jegathesan

Group General Counsel & Company Secretary, and Group Executive, HR
Vocus Group Limited

Benedict Coyne

Executive Counsel
Anderson Fredericks Turner

Christine Smyth

Accredited Specialist (Succession Law) QLD
Robbins Watson Solicitors

Claire Bibby

General Counsel & Non Executive Director
Marist 180, Australian Property Circles & UTS Law Advisory

Damian Sturzaker

Partner - Professioral Fellow
Marquee Lawyers - UNSW

Dominique Hogan-Doran

Senior Counsel
5 Wentworth Chambers

Fariborz Moshirian

Professor of Finance, Director, Institute of Global Finance
UNSW Business School

Gabrielle Appleby

Associate Dean (International & External Engagement)

Jacob Waye-Harris

Waye-Harris Lawyers

John Boersig

Chief Executive Officer
Legal Aid ACT

John Chisholm

John Chisholm Consulting

John McKenzie

Legal Services Commissioner NSW
Office of the Legal Services Commissioner

Jonathan Smithers

Chief Executive Officer
Law Council of Australia

Joseph Catanzariti

Vice President
Fair Work Commission

Ken Taylor

Queensland Law Society

Lesley Hitchens

Faculty of Law UTS

Linda Baxter

Director, Continuing Professional Development
Leo Cussen Centre for Law

Mark Cunliffe

Head Defence Legal
Department of Defence

Raechelle Binny

General Counsel, Consumer and Business Banking
National Australia Bank

Rebecca Edwards

General Counsel
Payce Consolidated

Sandeep Gopalan

Pro Vice-Chancellor for Academic Innovation
Deakin University

Shane Matthews

General Counsel
Kaplan Australia

Shirley Southgate

Director - Practice Legal Training
Leo Cussen Centre for Law

Stephen Lancken

Mediator and MD
Negocio Resolutions

Steven Walker

CEO and Founder

Sue-Ella Prodonovich

Prodonovich Advisory

Ted Dwyer

Dwyer Consulting

Tony Dormer

Tricor Chew and Dormers

Tony O'Malley


Vincent Bicudo De Castro

Lecturer in Accounting
Deakin University

William Lye

Barrister at Law
Victorian Bar