subscribe to our newsletter sign up
UQ secures victory in international maritime law moot
Live: Royal Commission into the Management of Police Informants public hearings:

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.

UQ secures victory in international maritime law moot

University of Queensland, 19th International Maritime Law Arbitration Moot Competition

The University of Queensland has won its second major international mooting title of the year, after coming out on top of the 19th International Maritime Law Arbitration Moot Competition (IMLAM).

IMLAM requires law students to develop a case based on a scenario involving a commercial shipping dispute and put it before a tribunal comprising of experienced maritime arbitrators, maritime industry members and commercial maritime lawyers.

The UQ team defeated the University of Hong Kong in the grand final, which was held at the Brisbane-based Federal Court of Australia.

The winning UQ team (pictured) consisted of UQ Law Society president Sangeetha Badya, Laura Heit, Joshua McKersey and Priam Rangiah, and was coached by UQ graduate Dominic Fawcett and mentored by Professor Nick Gaskell.


TC Beirne School of Law head of school Professor Patrick Parkinson said the team’s hard work and months of preparation had been rewarded.

“I would like to extend my sincere congratulations to Sangeetha, Laura, Joshua and Priam, and thank Dominic and Professor Gaskell for their support and guidance to the team,” he said.

“Mooting requires students to hone their research, advocacy and presentation skills, and our students have proven twice this year that they are the best in the world when it comes to demonstrating these highly sought-after legal skills.”

Professor Parkinson’s comments were in reference to UQ’s recent win at the 2018 Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition in Washington, DC, meaning the law school has now won two major international mooting competitions this year.

The UQ IMLAM team was also recognised with multiple awards throughout the competition, including best claimant memorandum, best speaker in the general rounds (Ms Badya) and best speaker in the final rounds (Ms Heit).

Recommended by Spike Native Network