NSW partners dominate finalists list

NSW partners dominate finalists list

19 August 2015 By Felicity Nelson

This year 8 of the 10 finalists in the highly competitive Australian Law Awards Partner of the Year category come from Sydney.

The overwhelming representation of NSW partners was offset by King & Wood Mallesons’ Berkeley Cox from Queensland and Gilbert + Tobin’s Neil Pathak from Melbourne.

Three out of the ten finalists this year were women and one partner from a boutique firm made the list.

Finalist James Ryan (pictured) is one of two partners at boutique firm Speirs Ryan. At only 31 years of age, Mr Ryan is one of the youngest partners in the legal profession.

He resigned as a senior associate at a large national firm to establish the property firm in 2014 and has advised on a series of large transactional matters since.


Finalist Amanda Davidson from Holman Fenwick Willan made headlines recently as one of only two solicitors to receive the Order of Australia.  

Ms Davidson chairs PEARLS, a not-for-profit organisation that raises awareness of pre-eclampsia, a life-threatening condition that affects one in 10 pregnant women in Australia.

She has also advised on multi-billion dollar transactions for major industrial clients this year.

Finalist Dr Teresa Nicoletti, the head of Piper Alderman’s regulatory group, is celebrating more than one success this year.

Combining her two passions of law and science, Dr Nicoletti advises multi-national pharmaceutical and healthcare companies across Australia.


She is actively involved in discussions with state and federal health departments to discuss the legislative changes so that a medicinal cannabis industry can lawfully operate in Australia.

Medicinal cannabis has the potential to provide relief or comfort to those suffering from a range of conditions including epilepsy, chronic pain and Alzheimer’s disease.

Recognising the advocacy work of practitioners like Dr Nicoletti, the NSW Government recently pledged $9 million to conduct clinical trials in NSW.

The remaining partners in this category were: Michelle Segaert, Squire Patton Boggs;  Andrew Lacey, McCabes Lawyers; Ben McLaughlin, Baker & McKenzie; Brett Hawkins, McCullough Robertson; and Nick Humphrey, Sparke Helmore Lawyers.

The Australian Law Awards will be presented at The Westin Sydney on 17 September – purchase tickets here.

NSW partners dominate finalists list
Intro image
lawyersweekly logo