find the latest legal job
Senior Associate - Litigation & Dispute Resolution
Category: Litigation and Dispute Resolution | Location: Melbourne CBD & Inner Suburbs Melbourne VIC
· Come work for a firm ranked in Lawyers Weekly Top 25 Attraction Firms
View details
Associate - Workplace Relations & Safety
Category: Industrial Relations and Employment Law | Location: Brisbane CBD & Inner Suburbs Brisbane QLD
· Employer of choice · Strong team culture
View details
Freelance Lawyers
Category: Banking and Finance Law | Location: All Perth WA
· Freelance opportunities through Vario from Pinsent Masons
View details
Freelance Lawyers
Category: Other | Location: All Adelaide SA
· • Qualified lawyer with a strong academic background
View details
Freelance Lawyers
Category: Other | Location: All Melbourne VIC
· • Qualified lawyer with a strong academic background
View details
Two firms dominate in deals

Two firms dominate in deals

Partners from two global firms have dominated the finalist list for the Dealmaker of the Year category at the Australian Law Awards 2015.

The Dealmaker of the Year award recognises outstanding performance by an individual who has acted on one or more transactions over the past 12 months. Seven out of the 10 finalists hail from either Herbert Smith Freehills or King & Wood Mallesons.

Michael Ziegelaar, Philippa Stone, Rodd Levy and Rebecca Maslen-Stannage from Herbert Smith Freehills are all in the running; as are David Friedlander, Ian Paterson and Yuen-Yee Cho from King & Wood Mallesons.

Rounding out the category is Minter Ellison’s Costas Condoleon, Gilbert + Tobin’s Neil Pathak and Sparke Helmore’s Nick Humphrey.

Mr Pathak and Mr Humphrey are also both in the running for the Partner of the Year award.

The Partner of the Year award recognises outstanding performance by an individual at partner level within a private practice law firm. A total of 28 submissions were made, from which 10 finalists were chosen.

The other eight finalists are: Amanda Davidson, Holman Fenwick Willan; Andrew Lacey, McCabes Lawyers; Ben McLaughlin, Baker & McKenzie; Berkeley Cox, King & Wood Mallesons; Brett Hawkins, McCullough Robertson; Dr Teresa Nicoletti, Piper Alderman; James Ryan, Speirs Ryan; and Michelle Segaert, Squire Patton Boggs.

Like this story? Subscribe to our free newsletter and receive Lawyers Weekly every day straight to your inbox.


Like this story? Read more:

QLS condemns actions of disgraced lawyer as ‘stain on the profession’

NSW proposes big justice reforms to target risk of reoffending

The legal budget breakdown 2017

Two firms dominate in deals
lawyersweekly logo
Promoted content
Recommended by Spike Native Network
more from lawyers weekly
Oct 20 2017
Podcast: One of law’s most infamous alumni – in conversation with Julian Morrow
In this episode of The Lawyers Weekly Show, Melissa Coade is joined by The Chaser’s Julian Morrow....
Oct 20 2017
High Court overturns ‘excessive’ anti-protest legislation
Bob Brown’s recent victory in the High Court over the Tasmanian government was a win for fundament...
Oct 20 2017
Changes to Australian citizenship laws blocked
Attempts to beef up the requirements to obtain Australian citizenship were thwarted this week, after...
Allens managing partner Richard Spurio, image courtesy Allens' website
Jun 21 2017
Promo season at Allens
A group of lawyers at Allens have received promotions across its PNG and Australian offices. ...
May 11 2017
Partner exits for in-house role
A Victorian lawyer has left the partnership of a national firm to start a new gig with state governm...
Esteban Gomez
May 11 2017
National firm recruits ‘major asset’
A national law firm has announced it has appointed a new corporate partner who brings over 15 years'...
Nicole Rich
May 16 2017
Access to justice for young transgender Australians
Reform is looming for the process that young transgender Australians and their families must current...
Geoff Roberson
May 11 2017
The lighter side of the law: when law and comedy collide
On the face of it, there doesn’t seem to be much that is amusing about the law, writes Geoff Rober...
May 10 2017
Advocate’s immunity – without fear or without favour but not both
On 29 March 2017, the High Court handed down its decision in David Kendirjian v Eugene Lepore & ...