2017 Finalists

Academic of the Year

Marilyn Pittard, Monash University
Cathy Sherry, UNSW Sydney
Chinelle van der Westhuizen, The University of Notre Dame


Barrister of the Year

Dearne Firth, Queensland Bar
Katherine Brazenor, Victorian Bar
Dominique Hogan-Doran SC, Australian Bar
Laura Keily, Ninian Stephen Chambers


Boutique Diversity Law Firm of the Year

Harmers Workplace Lawyers
JHK Legal


Dealmaker of the Year

Gina Cass-Gottlieb, Gilbert + Tobin
Kylie de Oliveira, Clayton Utz
Kylie Lane, Ashurst
Julie Levis, Clayton Utz
Meredith Paynter, King & Wood Mallesons


Diversity Law Firm of the Year

Clayton Utz
Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Gilbert + Tobin
Herbert Smith Freehills
King & Wood Mallesons


Executive of the Year

Mary Digiglio, Swaab
Kate Jordan, Clayton Utz
Jacqueline Keddie, Nexus Law Group
Sue Kench, King & Wood Mallesons
Janelle Kerrisk, Helix Legal
Chrissy Leontios, CLEON Legal and Mediation Services
Marianne Marchesi, Legalite
Andrea Michaels, NDA Law
Petra Stirling, Gilbert + Tobin
Gina Szwider, Bespoke


General Counsel of the Year

Ilona Alsters, Ruralco Holdings Limited
Kate Eastoe, oOh!media
Katrina Johnson, Uber Asia Pacific
Bronwyn Kerr, Atlas Iron Limited
Anna Lozynski, L'Oreal Australia & New Zealand
Paula Robinson, Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Corporation
Sheree Siow, AIA Australia
Sarah Tinsley, Australian Radio Network
Sarah Turner, REA Group Ltd


HR Professional of the Year

Helen Calladine, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Louise Ferris, McCullough Robertson
Mary Lyras, MinterEllison
Clare Monger, K&L Gates
Kieran Naylor, Thynne + Macartney
Leanda Nissen, Russell Kennedy Lawyers
Anna Quilter, Ashurst
Anne Reeves, Maurice Blackburn Lawyers
Maria Zoras-Christo, Patrick


In-House Lawyer of the Year

Shanti Berggren, Singtel Optus
Charmaine Byrne, Westpac Banking Corporation
Tina Davey, AIA Australia
Fiona Harding, Bank of Queensland
Jane Lye, Australian Government Solicitor
Joanna Moore, The Royal Automobile Club of Queensland
Olivia Perks, The University of Sydney
Haylen Pong, Salmat
April Rich, Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Corporation
Tracey Scott, Football Federation Australia
Jenny Taing, Vanguard Australia


Law Student of the Year

Alex Armstrong-Millar, Telstra, Western Sydney University
Stephanie Blancquart, UNSW Sydney
Amy Bradley, University of Notre Dame
Elizabeth Bruce, Cominos Family Lawyers, University of Sydney/LPAB
Claudia Carr, Herbert Smith Freehills, Curtin University
Hannah Krieger, Community Legal Centres Queensland, University of Queensland
Hannah McDonald, Monash University
Jessica Popple, University of the Sunshine Coast
Courtney Rickersey, Griffith University
Marija Yelavich, Dare to Know Publications, Western Sydney University


Marketing Communications Executive of the Year

Cathy Baker, Community Legal Centres Queensland
Caitlin Chambers, MinterEllison
Krisanti Fisher, Dentons
Rebecca Hanlan, Maurice Blackburn Lawyers
Kate Ritchie, Dentons
Anita Thompson, LOD - Lawyers On Demand
Kathy Zmijewski, McDonald Murholme


Mentor of the Year

Monica Blizzard, KHQ Lawyers
Catherine Dunlop, Maddocks
Sarah Frost, Herbert Smith Freehills
Jane Hall, Ashurst
Victoria Hepburn, MinterEllison
Emma Hodgman, DibbsBarker
Bronwyn Lincoln, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
April Rich, Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Corporation
Meda Royall, Your Law Firm
Mary Still, Clayton Utz


Not-for-profit Lawyer of the Year

Kate Grant, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Legal Service (Qld) Ltd
Sarah Dale, Refugee Advice & Casework Service (RACS)
Ciara Daly, Aboriginal Legal Service
Angela Lynch, Women's Legal Service Queensland
Rosslyn Monro, Community Legal Centres Queensland
Sharell O'Brien, North Queensland Women's Legal Service
Helen Pearce, The Humanitarian Group
Kimberly Randle, International Justice Mission Australia


Partner of the Year

Rebecca Castley, Colin Biggers & Paisley
Catherine Dunlop, Maddocks
Melissa Fenton, Colin Biggers & Paisley
Caroline Hutchinson, Coleman Greig Lawyers
Karen Ingram, Clayton Utz
Louise Massey, Dentons
Belinda Michalk, Sparke Helmore Lawyers
Samantha O'Brien, DLA Piper
Claire Rogers, King & Wood Mallesons
Maree Skinner, DibbsBarker


Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year

Danielle Barry, Allens
Michelle Berry, Hall & Wilcox
Amy Burton, Salvos Legal Humanitarian
Francesca Lai, Hall & Wilcox
Alexandra Pieniazek, King & Wood Mallesons
Emily Schneider, Wotton + Kearney
Tamara Sims, Gilbert + Tobin
Jessie Smith, Stary Norton Halphen
Charlotte Yellowlees, Salvos Legal Humanitarian


Senior Associate of the Year

Susan Accary, Slater and Gordon Lawyers
Agata Bober, King & Wood Mallesons
Karen Dwyer, Ashurst
Alexandra Grayson, Maurice Blackburn.Lawyers
Wendy Hsu, Gilbert + Tobin
Danielle Monti, K&L Gates
Jessica Norris, MinterEllison
Maria Panos, Henry Davis York
Millie Richmond-Scott, MinterEllison
Erika Williams, McCullough Robertson


Sole Practitioner of the Year

Courtney Bowie, Her Lawyer
Dorota Bryks, Bryks Lawyers
Anne-Marie Cade, Divorce Right Pty Ltd
Caroline Counsel, Caroline Counsel Family Lawyers: Better Families, Brighter Futures
Rebecca Harper, Harpers Legal
Jennifer Hetherington, Hetherington Family Law
Jeanette Jifkins, Onyx Online Law
Marianne Marchesi, Legalite
Kristi McCusker, KMC Legal
Despina Priala, Priala Legal


Special Counsel of the Year

Jennifer Barron, Gilbert + Tobin
Venetia Bennett, K&L Gates
Catherine Boxhall, DibbsBarker
Monique Carroll, King & Wood Mallesons
Kate Casellas, Clayton Utz
Arabella Dove, Ashurst
Jennifer Harris, Clayton Utz
Felicity Saxon, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Julia Sutherland, Ashurst
Ahranee Vijayaseelan, Hall & Wilcox


Thought Leader of the Year

Cassandra Banks, Susan Green Legal Practice
Anne-Marie Cade, Divorce Right Pty Ltd
Pamela Cominos, Cominos Family Lawyers
Cassandra Heilbronn, MinterEllison
Tricia Hobson, Norton Rose Fulbright
Chrissy Leontios, CLEON Legal and Mediation Services
Andrea Michaels, NDA Law
Kristy Perdriau, Perdriau Family Lawyers
Sarah Roach, Helix Legal
Belinda Wilson, Law Institute of Victoria


Young Gun of the Year

Julie Abdalla, MinterEllison
Phoebe Blank, TressCox Lawyers
Veronika Drago, Slater and Gordon Lawyers
Anneka Frayne, Stacks Law Firm
Tegan Harrington, Corrs Chambers Westgarth
Aleksandra Ilic, King & Wood Mallesons
Marina Kofman, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP
Hannah Morris, Mills Oakley
Lara Solomons, Clayton Utz
Amy Zhang, Harmers Workplace Lawyers


2017 Finalists
lawyersweekly logo