Goodbye job applications, hello dream career
Seize control of your career and design the future you deserve with LW career

Australian Bar Association announces new executive team

In addition to securing the position of president and vice-presidents, the Australian Bar Association created the role of chair of conferences.

user iconNaomi Neilson 18 December 2023 Big Law
expand image

Peter Dunning KC, the former solicitor general for Queensland, has been re-elected president of the Australian Bar Association (ABA).

“I am deeply honoured to be re-elected to serve a second term as president of the ABA,” Mr Dunning said.

Former president of the Victorian Bar, Róisín Annesley KC, and junior vice-president of the NSW Bar, Michael Izzo SC, have been elected vice-presidents. It will be Ms Annesley’s second time in the role.


Andrew Muller SC was re-elected treasurer, and Ian Robertson SC will continue as chair of the Advocacy Training Council.

At a special general meeting, the position of chair of conferences was created and will be filled by former Victorian Bar president Sam Hay KC.

“I would like to thank Dominic Toomey SC for his service as vice-president of the ABA from 2022–23 and wish him well in his tenure as vice-president of the NSW Bar,” Mr Dunning said.

“I also wish to thank Róisín Annesley KC for her support and service to the ABA over the past term, along with the rest of the executive. I also thank the CEO of the ABA, Greg Tolhurst, the CFO, Kelsey Rissman, and the executive assistant, Liz Barr.

“I also thank Gabrielle Bashir SC and Duncan McConnel SC, whose terms on the ABA council have come to an end. Their contributions to the ABA were invaluable.”

The non-executive members of the council are:

Ruth Higgins SC (president, NSW Bar Association)

Mary Chalmers SC (president, Northern Territory Bar Association)

Marie Shaw KC (president, South Australian Bar Association)

Brahma Dharmananda SC (president, Western Australian Bar Association)

Tom Cox (president, Tasmanian Bar Association)

Damien O’Brien KC (president, Bar Association of Queensland)

Georgina Schoff KC (president, Victorian Bar)

Marcus Hassall (president, ACT Bar)

You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member for free today!