find the latest legal job
Corporate Counsel and Company Secretary
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Newcastle, Maitland & Hunter NSW
· Highly-respected, innovative and entrepreneurial Not-for-Profit · Competency based Board
View details
Chief Counsel and Company Secretary
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Newcastle, Maitland & Hunter NSW
· Dynamic, high growth organisation · ASX listed market leader
View details
In-house Projects Lawyer | Renewables / Solar | 2-5 Years PQE
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: All Australia
· Help design the future · NASDAQ Listed
View details
Insurance Lawyer (1-3 PAE)
Category: Insurance and Superannuation Law | Location: Sydney NSW 2000
· Join a dynamic Firm · Excellent career growth opportunity
View details
In-house lawyer 1-4 PAE
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Adelaide SA 5000
· Leading Brand · Report to a Dynamic Legal Counsel
View details
Mid-tier announces major promotions

Mid-tier announces major promotions

A number of internal mid-tier promotions will see the ranks of its special counsel and firm partnership grow.

HWL Ebsworth has announced the largest ever single round of internal partner, special counsel and senior association promotions in the firm’s history. The firm now claims to boast the “largest legal partnership in Australia”, citing recent partnership surveys published by Fairfax.

In a statement released this week, the firm welcomed 11 new members to its partnership team. The announcement also coincided with the internal promotion of 10 lawyers to special counsel and nine others to senior associate positions.

The firm's managing partner Juan Martinez (pictured) said the latest promotions were the product of a “sustained and unrivaled growth strategy” implemented by HWL Ebsworth some years ago.

“This latest tranche of promotions, involving a collection of exceptionally talented lawyers operating across Australia, shows that our long-term strategy is proving to be highly effective," Mr Martinez said.

“I congratulate all of our promoted team members for taking this next exciting step in their career progression," he said.

The new partners have been promoted across their practice areas and in the HWL Ebsworth Darwin, Brisbane, Sydney, Canberra and Melbourne offices. Joining the partnership are: insurance partners Andrew Allan, Sarah McJannett and Tony Scott; workplace relations & safety partners Brad Swebeck and Chris Egan; commercial and property partner Cassandra Emmett; commercial partner Laura Young; construction & infrastructure partners Colin Harris and Mark Riddington; property partner Melinda Leacy and litigation & dispute resolution partner Melissa Hanbidge.

The firm has also promoted Alexandra White, Alinta Bradley, James Fleetwood, Kyle Norton, Matthew Thickett, Paul Lewis, Renee Cansdale, Tim Dorgan, Timothy Chan and Victoria La Fontaine to the position of special counsel. 


Like this story? Read more:

QLS condemns actions of disgraced lawyer as ‘stain on the profession’

NSW proposes big justice reforms to target risk of reoffending

The legal budget breakdown 2017

Mid-tier announces major promotions
lawyersweekly logo
Promoted content
Recommended by Spike Native Network
more from lawyers weekly
NT Law Society sounds alarm on mandatory sentencing
The Law Society Northern Territory has issued a warning over mandatory sentencing, saying it hasn’...
Aug 22 2017
Professionals unite in support of marriage equality
The presidents of representative bodies for solicitors, barristers and doctors in NSW have come toge...
Aug 21 2017
Is your firm on the right track for gig economy gains?
Promoted by Crowd & Co. The way we do business, where we work, how we engage with workers, ev...
Allens managing partner Richard Spurio, image courtesy Allens' website
Jun 21 2017
Promo season at Allens
A group of lawyers at Allens have received promotions across its PNG and Australian offices. ...
May 11 2017
Partner exits for in-house role
A Victorian lawyer has left the partnership of a national firm to start a new gig with state governm...
Esteban Gomez
May 11 2017
National firm recruits ‘major asset’
A national law firm has announced it has appointed a new corporate partner who brings over 15 years'...
Nicole Rich
May 16 2017
Access to justice for young transgender Australians
Reform is looming for the process that young transgender Australians and their families must current...
Geoff Roberson
May 11 2017
The lighter side of the law: when law and comedy collide
On the face of it, there doesn’t seem to be much that is amusing about the law, writes Geoff Rober...
May 10 2017
Advocate’s immunity – without fear or without favour but not both
On 29 March 2017, the High Court handed down its decision in David Kendirjian v Eugene Lepore & ...