subscribe to our newsletter sign up
13 appointments made to AAT

13 appointments made to AAT

Federal Attorney-General Christian Porter has announced 13 appointments to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

The serves as a “one-stop shop for the independent review of a wide range of decisions made by the Australian government”, Mr Porter noted, and its members “come from a wide range of backgrounds with expertise in areas such as accountancy, disability, law, medicine, migration, military affairs, public administration, science and social welfare”, he said.

The government has made the following new appointments: Belinda Pola (full-time senior member), Deborah Mitchell (full-time member) and Dr Peter Fricker, Andrew George and Donna Petrovich (part-time members).

The following reappointments were also made: Richard Ellis, Dr Nicholas Manetta Fiona Meagher (full-time senior members), George Hallwood (full-time member) and Emeritus Professor Ronald McCallum AO, Sandra Taglieri SC, Ian Thompson and Frances Simmons (part-time members).


All of the appointees have been appointed for a period of between five and seven years and are “highly qualified to undertake the important task of conducting merits review of government decisions”, Mr Porter said in a statement.

On behalf of the Australian government, I congratulate all appointees, and I look forward to the contribution they will make to the tribunal,” he said.

Recommended by Spike Native Network