Ashurst calls on Australia’s best business writers

By Tom Lodewyke|02 October 2017

The State Library of New South Wales has opened entries for the 2017 Ashurst Business Literature Prize.

The prize was established 14 years ago to celebrate business and finance literature and promote Australian business.

Past winners of the $30,000 prize include Catherine Bishop for Minding Her Own Business: Colonial businesswomen in Sydney, Stuart Kells for Penguin and the Lane Brothers: The Untold Story of a Publishing Revolution, and Andrew Burrell for Twiggy: The High Stakes Life of Andrew Forest.

Entries may include corporate and commercial literature, histories, accounts or analyses of corporate affairs, and biographies of distinguished entrepreneurs, magnates and business icons, according to a statement from Ashurst.


The NSW State Library administers the prize on behalf of Ashurst.

“This prize has become one of the most significant in Australia, and we at the State Library are delighted to be able to support it,” said NSW State Librarian Dr John Vallance.

Ashurst regional head of Australia Phil Breden said the firm was proud to recognise the contributions of Australia’s business literature community.

“For 14 years, the prize has recognised some of finest writers who have canvassed a diverse range of topics on Australia’s business and financial affairs,” he said.

“Ashurst is proud to have established and continued to support this important prize with the State Library of NSW.”


To be eligible, books must have been first published between 1 September 2016 and 31 August 2017, and are commercially available in Australia within this period.

The winner will be announced early next year.

Ashurst calls on Australia’s best business writers
Intro image
lawyersweekly logo
Big Law


Brisbane lawyer to be removed from roll

Corrs promotes 7 to partnership

Questions raised about Legal Professional Board of Tasmania process

Hong Kong hits back at Law Council’s criticism

Recommended by Spike Native Network