Subscribe to our newsletter sign up
Winners revealed for Corporate Counsel Awards

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.

Winners revealed for Corporate Counsel Awards

Corporate Counsel Awards

Lawyers Weekly, in partnership with LOD, is proud to reveal the winners of this year’s Corporate Counsel Awards.

Held at the Hyatt Regency on Friday 29 March, this year’s Corporate Counsel Awards featured 26 award winners, including the hotly contested Corporate Counsel Excellence Award.

Over 600 gathered to the event to show their support and were treated to a three-course dinner with entertainment provided by MC Corinne Grant. 

The Lawyers Weekly team would like to thank all of the judges and its valued sponsors for making the event a success. 

The winners for the 2019 Corporate Counsel Awards are:

Academia, Training and Education Lawyer of the Year


Elizabeth Grinston, The University of NSW

Construction and Real Estate Lawyer of the Year

Andrew Selim, Home Consortium

Construction and Real Estate Team of the Year


Defence Lawyer of the Year

Nicholas Sedgwick, Thales Australia

Financial Services Lawyer of the Year

Fiona Harding Bank of Queensland

Financial Services Team of the Year


FMCG Lawyer of the Year

Lily Wong, PepsiCo Australia & New Zealand

FMCG Team of the Year

Coca-Cola Amatil

Government Lawyer of the Year

Dr Madeleine Hartley, WaterNSW

Healthcare, Pharmaceuticals and Biotech Lawyer of the Year

Alexandra Sweeney, GenesisCare

Healthcare, Pharmaceuticals and Biotech Team of the Year

Western Health

Industrial, Materials and Manufacturing Lawyer of the Year

Belinda Murray, BGC (Australia)

Industrial, Materials and Manufacturing Team of the Year

Boral Australia

Infrastructure, Utilities and Energy Lawyer of the Year

Jacob Leslie, CPB Contractors

Infrastructure, Utilities and Energy Team of the Year


Insurance Lawyer of the Year

Marea Hickie, Woolworths

Insurance Team of the Year

AIA Australia

Not-for-profit Lawyer of the Year

Katrin O’Sullivan, The Fred Hollows Foundation

Not-for-profit Team of the Year 

UNSW Sydney Legal Team

Sports and Entertainment Lawyer of the Year

Sunil Puranikmath, Telstra

Sports and Entertainment Team of the Year

Tabcorp Holdings

Technology, Media and Telecommunications Lawyer of the Year

Amanda Ong, NOVA Entertainment

Technology, Media and Telecommunications Team of the Year


Travel, Tourism and Hospitality Lawyer of the Year

Dennis Tuan-Mu, Delaware North

Travel, Tourism and Hospitality Team of the Year

Carnival Australia

Excellence Award

Dr Madeleine Hartley, WaterNSW

Emma Ryan

Emma Ryan

Emma Ryan is the editor of Lawyers Weekly at Momentum Media.

Emma has worked for Momentum Media since 2015, and has been responsible for breaking some of the biggest stories in corporate Australia. She also directs the content for Lawyers Weekly's stable of events, including the Australian Law Awards, the Women in Law Awards and the Boutique Law Summit. 

A journalist by training, Emma has spent her career connecting with audiences across a variety of platforms, including online, podcast and radio.

She graduated from Charles Sturt University with a Bachelor of Communications (Journalism). 

You can email Emma on: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Recommended by Spike Native Network