find the latest legal job
Corporate Counsel and Company Secretary
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Newcastle, Maitland & Hunter NSW
· Highly-respected, innovative and entrepreneurial Not-for-Profit · Competency based Board
View details
Chief Counsel and Company Secretary
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Newcastle, Maitland & Hunter NSW
· Dynamic, high growth organisation · ASX listed market leader
View details
In-house Projects Lawyer | Renewables / Solar | 2-5 Years PQE
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: All Australia
· Help design the future · NASDAQ Listed
View details
Insurance Lawyer (3-5 PAE)
Category: Insurance and Superannuation Law | Location: Brisbane CBD & Inner Suburbs Brisbane QLD
· Dynamic organisation ·
View details
Legal Counsel
Category: Corporate and Commercial Law | Location: North Sydney NSW 2060
· 18 month fixed term contract · 3-5 years PQE with TMT exposure
View details
Nominations open for in-house awards

Nominations open for in-house awards

The Australian Corporate Lawyers Association (ACLA) is now accepting nominations for its annual awards.

ACLA has announced that this year’s awards dinner, which will be held at the Palmer Coolum Resort on Thursday 8 November, will have six contested categories.

Corporate lawyers, government lawyers and young in-house lawyers will all be recognised by the awards.
“These are truly in-house awards, being judged by in-house lawyers for in-house lawyers,” said Trish Hyde (pictured), the CEO of ACLA.

At the 2011 ACLA awards, Stretch Kontelj, Specavers’ legal director for the Asia-Pacific, won the blue-ribbon Corporate Lawyer of the Year Award.

He pipped finalists the calibre of Brian Salter, the AMP general counsel, Greg Watson, the Metcash general counsel, and Frances Russell-Matthews from Westpac.

Other award winners last year included Glenn Owbridge, from the Australian Government Solicitor, who won the Government Lawyer of the Year, and Lisa Chan from Curtin University, who was the recipient of the Young Lawyer Achiever of the Year Award.

The in-house teams from Incitec Pivot Limited and Thiess John Holland won the respective Large and Small Legal Team of the Year awards.

For more information on the ACLA awards, go to the ACLA website.

Like this story? Read more:

QLS condemns actions of disgraced lawyer as ‘stain on the profession’

NSW proposes big justice reforms to target risk of reoffending

The legal budget breakdown 2017

Nominations open for in-house awards
lawyersweekly logo
Promoted content
Recommended by Spike Native Network
more from lawyers weekly
LCA president Fiona McLeod SC
Aug 17 2017
Where social fault lines meet the justice gap in Aus
After just returning from a tour of the Northern Territory, LCA president Fiona McLeod SC speaks wit...
Marriage equality flag
Aug 17 2017
ALHR backs High Court challenge to marriage equality postal vote
Australian Lawyers for Human Rights (ALHR) has voiced its support for a constitutional challenge to ...
Give advice
Aug 17 2017
A-G issues advice on judiciary’s public presence
Commonwealth Attorney-General George Brandis QC has offered his advice on the public presence of jud...
Allens managing partner Richard Spurio, image courtesy Allens' website
Jun 21 2017
Promo season at Allens
A group of lawyers at Allens have received promotions across its PNG and Australian offices. ...
May 11 2017
Partner exits for in-house role
A Victorian lawyer has left the partnership of a national firm to start a new gig with state governm...
Esteban Gomez
May 11 2017
National firm recruits ‘major asset’
A national law firm has announced it has appointed a new corporate partner who brings over 15 years'...
Nicole Rich
May 16 2017
Access to justice for young transgender Australians
Reform is looming for the process that young transgender Australians and their families must current...
Geoff Roberson
May 11 2017
The lighter side of the law: when law and comedy collide
On the face of it, there doesn’t seem to be much that is amusing about the law, writes Geoff Rober...
May 10 2017
Advocate’s immunity – without fear or without favour but not both
On 29 March 2017, the High Court handed down its decision in David Kendirjian v Eugene Lepore & ...