find the latest legal job
Corporate Counsel and Company Secretary
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Newcastle, Maitland & Hunter NSW
· Highly-respected, innovative and entrepreneurial Not-for-Profit · Competency based Board
View details
Chief Counsel and Company Secretary
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Newcastle, Maitland & Hunter NSW
· Dynamic, high growth organisation · ASX listed market leader
View details
In-house Projects Lawyer | Renewables / Solar | 2-5 Years PQE
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: All Australia
· Help design the future · NASDAQ Listed
View details
Insurance Lawyer (1-3 PAE)
Category: Insurance and Superannuation Law | Location: Sydney NSW 2000
· Join a dynamic Firm · Excellent career growth opportunity
View details
In-house lawyer 1-4 PAE
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Adelaide SA 5000
· Leading Brand · Report to a Dynamic Legal Counsel
View details
College of Law honours high-achievers

College of Law honours high-achievers

College of Law

A new fellowship program will recognise the work of its graduates and members.

Honorary fellowships will be awarded to those who have made an outstanding contribution to the college in either Australia or New Zealand.

The inaugural cohort will be presented with an honorary masters degree at an awards ceremony in May.

Among the first Honorary Fellows, the college named Human Rights Commission president Gillian Triggs, Family Court Justice Robert Benjamin, Fair Work Commission VP Joseph Catanzariti, Glenn Ferguson of Ferguson Cannon Lawyers, LAWASIA VP Ian Haynes and former Justice Keith Mason.

Academics and college members were also recognised, with the honorary fellowships going to Professor Ron McCallum of the University of Sydney, Professor Ken McKinnon of Charles Darwin University, former college governor June McPhie, current college governor Bill O’Shea and College of Law WA director Laurence Shervington.

The college has also introduced academic fellowships to acknowledge those who have made a sustained contribution as senior academic leaders.

This group will include Bryan Brown, Les Handler, Dr Monica Hayes, Katherine Mulcahy, Kay Smith and Keith Taylor.

In addition, graduate fellowships will be awarded to those students completing a masters program at the college.

College CEO and principal Neville Carter said the fellowship program marked “a coming of age” for the institution.

“It recognises the role the college now plays in the education and training of the legal profession, not just pre-admission but through to specialisation and beyond,” Mr Carter said.

“The success of our masters programs is testament to this, providing as they do a practical, practice-based alternative to more traditional LLMs.”

Like this story? Read more:

QLS condemns actions of disgraced lawyer as ‘stain on the profession’

NSW proposes big justice reforms to target risk of reoffending

The legal budget breakdown 2017

College of Law honours high-achievers
lawyersweekly logo
Promoted content
Recommended by Spike Native Network
more from lawyers weekly
NT Law Society sounds alarm on mandatory sentencing
The Law Society Northern Territory has issued a warning over mandatory sentencing, saying it hasn’...
Aug 22 2017
Professionals unite in support of marriage equality
The presidents of representative bodies for solicitors, barristers and doctors in NSW have come toge...
Aug 21 2017
Is your firm on the right track for gig economy gains?
Promoted by Crowd & Co. The way we do business, where we work, how we engage with workers, ev...
Allens managing partner Richard Spurio, image courtesy Allens' website
Jun 21 2017
Promo season at Allens
A group of lawyers at Allens have received promotions across its PNG and Australian offices. ...
May 11 2017
Partner exits for in-house role
A Victorian lawyer has left the partnership of a national firm to start a new gig with state governm...
Esteban Gomez
May 11 2017
National firm recruits ‘major asset’
A national law firm has announced it has appointed a new corporate partner who brings over 15 years'...
Nicole Rich
May 16 2017
Access to justice for young transgender Australians
Reform is looming for the process that young transgender Australians and their families must current...
Geoff Roberson
May 11 2017
The lighter side of the law: when law and comedy collide
On the face of it, there doesn’t seem to be much that is amusing about the law, writes Geoff Rober...
May 10 2017
Advocate’s immunity – without fear or without favour but not both
On 29 March 2017, the High Court handed down its decision in David Kendirjian v Eugene Lepore & ...