find the latest legal job
Corporate/Commercial Lawyers (2-5 years PAE)
Category: Corporate and Commercial Law | Location: Adelaide SA 5000
· Specialist commercial law firm · Long-term career progression
View details
Graduate Lawyer / Up to 1.5 yr PAE Lawyer
Category: Personal Injury Law | Location: Brisbane CBD & Inner Suburbs Brisbane QLD
· Mentoring Opportunity in Regional QLD · Personal Injury Law
View details
Corporate and Commercial Partner
Category: Corporate and Commercial Law | Location: Adelaide SA 5000
· Full time · Join a leading Adelaide commercial law firm
View details
In-house Legal Counsel & Commercial Lawyers
Category: Corporate and Commercial Law | Location: All Sydney NSW
· Providing lawyers with flexibility and control over when they work, how they work and who they work for.
View details
In-house Legal Counsel & Commercial Lawyers
Category: Corporate and Commercial Law | Location: All Melbourne VIC
· Providing lawyers with flexibility and control over when they work, how they work and who they work for.
View details
Individuals’ time to shine

Individuals’ time to shine

Carmel Mulhurn Telstra Corporation Limited

This year the Australian Law Awards had nine categories devoted to celebrating the success of individuals throughout all stages of their careers, from law students to managing partners.

The winners of the nine individual categories were also all automatically up for the top prize of the night, the Lawyers Weekly Excellence award, which went to General Counsel of the Year winner Carmel Mulhern from Telstra Corporation Limited.

In her role, Ms Mulhern (pictured) manages 200 lawyers located in Asia, Australia, Canada, the UK and the US.

One of the judges said: “Carmel has demonstrated her exceptional skills in all aspects of her role as legal and commercial leader within Telstra, and also her role as team leader and visionary for not just her team but the corporate culture within her organisation.”

They continued: “There is much talk about promotion of women within the corporate and legal spheres. Carmel is spearheading her organisation to actually create the opportunities for women to succeed.”

The Managing Partner of the Year award went to Tony Macvean from Hall & Wilcox for his outstanding effort over the last 12 months and the substantial growth and culture of innovation that he created at Hall & Wilcox.

One judge described Mr Macvean as an “excellent leader who has driven improvement in all aspects of the firm.”

Partner of the Year went to Berkeley Cox from King & Wood Mallesons, whose fellow partners submitted an application on his behalf without him knowing.

“The nomination being made by the partners without the nominee's knowledge demonstrates his influence on firm culture and the respect in which he is held,” one judge said.

Mr Cox’s co-workers spoke of his clear understanding of the difference between management and leadership and the way that he leads by example to create a very motivated passionate and thriving team.

“It is very rare – unheard of – for all 25 partners of a practice area to support an awards submission. This is testament to Berkeley Cox's standing among fellow partners,” another judge said.

This year, four out of the 10 finalists for the Dealmaker of the Year award hailed from Herbert Smith Freehills, and partner Philippa Stone took out the prize.

Judges said Ms Stone was “clearly an outstanding dealmaker” and that she “demonstrated an intrinsic ability to handle complex matters, ensuring favourable results for her client and at the same time managing the deal team, achieving outstanding results for her clients and her firm.”

Young up-and-comers and mid-level lawyers were also recognised throughout the evening in other awards.

The Young Gun of the Year award went to Samuel Kang from Gilbert + Tobin, who was described as ‘a proactive lawyer with lots of ideas’, ‘humble’ and ‘very much a team player’.

Benjamin Tomasi of University of Western Australia took home the Law Student of the Year award, and was described by a judge as being: "A brilliant achiever, with the promise of a star of the future, and one who will be conscious of the downtrodden in society.”

Sole Practitioner of the Year went to Rod Genders from Genders & Partners, Senior Associate of the Year went to John Moran from Norton Rose Fulbright and In-house Lawyer of the Year went to Jane Elise Bates from Airservices Australia.

The full list of Australian Law Award winners can be found here.

Like this story? Subscribe to our free newsletter and receive Lawyers Weekly every day straight to your inbox.


Like this story? Read more:

QLS condemns actions of disgraced lawyer as ‘stain on the profession’

NSW proposes big justice reforms to target risk of reoffending

The legal budget breakdown 2017

Individuals’ time to shine
lawyersweekly logo
Promoted content
Recommended by Spike Native Network
more from lawyers weekly
Scales of Justice
Dec 15 2017
Timing ‘critical’ in unusual contempt of court ruling
A recent case could have interesting implications for contempt of court rulings, according to a Ferr...
Dec 14 2017
International arbitration and business culture
Promoted by Maxwell Chambers. This article discusses the impact of international arbitration on t...
Papua New Guinea flag
Dec 14 2017
World-first mining case launched in PNG
Citizens of Papua New Guinea have launched landmark legal proceedings against the country’s govern...
Allens managing partner Richard Spurio, image courtesy Allens' website
Jun 21 2017
Promo season at Allens
A group of lawyers at Allens have received promotions across its PNG and Australian offices. ...
May 11 2017
Partner exits for in-house role
A Victorian lawyer has left the partnership of a national firm to start a new gig with state governm...
Esteban Gomez
May 11 2017
National firm recruits ‘major asset’
A national law firm has announced it has appointed a new corporate partner who brings over 15 years'...
Nicole Rich
May 16 2017
Access to justice for young transgender Australians
Reform is looming for the process that young transgender Australians and their families must current...
Geoff Roberson
May 11 2017
The lighter side of the law: when law and comedy collide
On the face of it, there doesn’t seem to be much that is amusing about the law, writes Geoff Rober...
May 10 2017
Advocate’s immunity – without fear or without favour but not both
On 29 March 2017, the High Court handed down its decision in David Kendirjian v Eugene Lepore & ...