find the latest legal job
Corporate Counsel and Company Secretary
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Newcastle, Maitland & Hunter NSW
· Highly-respected, innovative and entrepreneurial Not-for-Profit · Competency based Board
View details
Chief Counsel and Company Secretary
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Newcastle, Maitland & Hunter NSW
· Dynamic, high growth organisation · ASX listed market leader
View details
In-house Projects Lawyer | Renewables / Solar | 2-5 Years PQE
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: All Australia
· Help design the future · NASDAQ Listed
View details
Insurance Lawyer (3-5 PAE)
Category: Insurance and Superannuation Law | Location: Brisbane CBD & Inner Suburbs Brisbane QLD
· Dynamic organisation ·
View details
Real Estate & Projects Lawyer (6+ years PAE)
Category: Property Law | Location: Sydney CBD, Inner West & Eastern Suburbs Sydney NSW
· Top tier firm with offices nationally · High profile clients
View details
LCA welcomes TPP as boon to legal profession

LCA welcomes TPP as boon to legal profession

The recently signed Trans-Pacific Partnership Agreement will help open foreign legal markets to Australian lawyers, according to the Law Council of Australia.

The long-awaited free trade agreement between Australia and 11 other nations – accounting for 40 per cent of the world’s economy – was signed in New Zealand on Friday.

The Law Council of Australia announced its support for the agreement, suggesting it would bring a number of advantages for the Australian legal profession.

The agreement includes a number of “market access measures” for legal professionals, such as a right to provide legal services on a fly-in, fly-out basis in TPP countries, including eight additional US states not covered by previous agreements.

LCA president Stuart Clark said better market access for lawyers would allow Australian businesses to deepen their overseas ties.

“Transnational trade and investment cannot take place in a legal vacuum,” he said.

“Fly-in, fly-out access is an essential element of the business model of law firms operating internationally, regardless of whether they have an on-the-ground presence overseas.”

Malaysia has also made commitments to opening its legal market further for Australian lawyers under the TPP.

Mr Clark suggested that while no deal was perfect, the TPP was a positive development.

“It is always possible to identify deeper market access that could ideally be included in free trade agreements,” he said.

“However, the legal services commitments, combined with the ongoing improvements envisaged through the Professional Services Annex, makes the TPP a sound living agreement that provides a framework for further liberalisation.”

He indicated that further agreements currently being negotiated, including the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership, might further liberalise trade in legal services.

“Reducing the 'spaghetti bowl' of trade rules across the Asia-Pacific region and beyond should be a priority into the future,” he said.

Member nations of the TPP are Australia, New Zealand, the US, Canada, Japan, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, Brunei, Mexico, Chile and Peru.

Like this story? Read more:

QLS condemns actions of disgraced lawyer as ‘stain on the profession’

NSW proposes big justice reforms to target risk of reoffending

The legal budget breakdown 2017

LCA welcomes TPP as boon to legal profession
lawyersweekly logo
Promoted content
Recommended by Spike Native Network
more from lawyers weekly
Aug 21 2017
Is your firm on the right track for gig economy gains?
Promoted by Crowd & Co. The way we do business, where we work, how we engage with workers, ev...
Scales of Justice, Victorian County Court, retiring judges
Aug 21 2017
Replacements named for retired Vic judges
Two new judicial officers have been appointed in the Victorian County Court, following the retire...
Aug 21 2017
LCA applauds proposed Modern Slavery Act
The Law Council of Australia has welcomed new recommendations for the development of a Modern Slaver...
Allens managing partner Richard Spurio, image courtesy Allens' website
Jun 21 2017
Promo season at Allens
A group of lawyers at Allens have received promotions across its PNG and Australian offices. ...
May 11 2017
Partner exits for in-house role
A Victorian lawyer has left the partnership of a national firm to start a new gig with state governm...
Esteban Gomez
May 11 2017
National firm recruits ‘major asset’
A national law firm has announced it has appointed a new corporate partner who brings over 15 years'...
Nicole Rich
May 16 2017
Access to justice for young transgender Australians
Reform is looming for the process that young transgender Australians and their families must current...
Geoff Roberson
May 11 2017
The lighter side of the law: when law and comedy collide
On the face of it, there doesn’t seem to be much that is amusing about the law, writes Geoff Rober...
May 10 2017
Advocate’s immunity – without fear or without favour but not both
On 29 March 2017, the High Court handed down its decision in David Kendirjian v Eugene Lepore & ...