Inaugural awards attract high-profile judges

Inaugural awards attract high-profile judges

03 March 2016 By Lara Bullock

High-profile figures from across the legal profession have come together to judge the inaugural Lawyers Weekly Partner of the Year Awards.

The brand-new Partner of the Year Awards seek to applaud exceptional achievements by partner-level lawyers at private practice firms, both large and small.

Lawyers Weekly has recruited 23 judges who will face the gruelling challenge of narrowing down submissions made to the 23 practice area-based award categories.

High-profile names who will be dedicating time to selecting the winners include Law Council of Australia past-president Duncan McConnel, Supreme Court of NSW and Court of Appeal president Justice Margaret Beazley AO and NSW Crown Solicitor Lea Armstrong.


Taking time away from the bar to help judge are Caroline Kirton QC, Rashda Rana SC and Michelle Sindler.

Several law school figures are also on the list, including the College of Law CEO and principal Neville Carter, Deakin Law School associate professor Julie Clarke and the University of Technology Sydney Faculty of Law dean professor Lesley Hitchens.

Winners will be announced at a black-tie gala on 28 April at the Sofitel Sydney Wentworth – tickets on sale now.

Full list of judges

Duncan McConnel, president, Law Council of Australia


The Honourable Justice Margaret Beazley AO, Court of Appeal president, Supreme Court of NSW

Lea Armstrong, NSW Crown Solicitor, Crown Solicitors office

John McKenzie, Legal Services Commissioner of NSW, Office of the Legal Service Commissioner NSW

Dr John Boersig PSM, CEO, Legal Aid Commission ACT

Stephanie Milione, convenor, Victorian Women Lawyers

Adrian Goss, immediate past president, ACC (formerly ACLA)

Damian Sturzaker, vice-president, CIArb Australia

Caroline Kirton QC, barrister and arbitrator, Owen Dixon Chambers West

Rashda Rana SC, barrister and arbitrator, 39 Essex Chambers

Michelle Sindler, international arbitrator

Jane Bates, deputy general counsel, Airservices Australia

Lisa Hill, principal legal counsel, Foxtel

Associate professor Julie Clarke, Deakin Law School

Professor Lesley Hitchens, dean, University of Technology Sydney Faculty of Law

Dr Vincent Bicudo de Castro, lecturer, Deakin Business School Department of Accounting

Professor Fariborz Moshirian, director of the Institute of Global Finance, School of UNSW Business School

Neville Carter, CEO and principal, The College of Law

Joseph Catanzariti, vice-president, Fair Work Commission

John Chisholm, owner, John Chisholm Consulting

Ted Dwyer, director, Dwyer Consulting

Linda Baxter, director of CPD, Leo Cussen Centre for Law

Philip Gleed, director, Gleed Legal

Inaugural awards attract high-profile judges
Intro image
lawyersweekly logo