find the latest legal job
Corporate Counsel and Company Secretary
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Newcastle, Maitland & Hunter NSW
· Highly-respected, innovative and entrepreneurial Not-for-Profit · Competency based Board
View details
Chief Counsel and Company Secretary
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Newcastle, Maitland & Hunter NSW
· Dynamic, high growth organisation · ASX listed market leader
View details
In-house Projects Lawyer | Renewables / Solar | 2-5 Years PQE
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: All Australia
· Help design the future · NASDAQ Listed
View details
Insurance Lawyer (3-5 PAE)
Category: Insurance and Superannuation Law | Location: Brisbane CBD & Inner Suburbs Brisbane QLD
· Dynamic organisation ·
View details
Legal Counsel
Category: Corporate and Commercial Law | Location: North Sydney NSW 2060
· 18 month fixed term contract · 3-5 years PQE with TMT exposure
View details
Women dominate in 30 Under 30

Women dominate in 30 Under 30

30 Under 30

More than 60 per cent of the Lawyers Weekly 30 Under 30 finalists for 2016 are female, with women making up 80 per cent of finalists in some categories.

Of the 100 finalists, 39 are men and 61 women, accurately reflecting the gender split of the profession at the junior level.

However, women make up a much larger percentage of finalists in some categories.

Eight of the 10 finalists in each of the construction and real estate, intellectual property and workplace relations, employment and safety categories are female.

In the construction and real estate category Jane Xu, Danielle Monti, Magda Kucharska and Melissa Rubbo represent the international firms, hailing from DLA Piper, K&L Gates, King & Wood Mallesons and Herbert Smith Freehills respectively.

Two men and two women from national firms are also construction and real estate finalists. They are Nell van Weerdenburg from DibbsBarker, Linda Kelleher and Adam Merlehan from MinterEllison and Jerome Martin from Clayton Utz.

Rounding out the list are Nafsika Palbas of Tisher Liner FC Law and Ole Mitrevski of William James.

The intellectual property category also has four finalists from international firms, four from nationals and two from a boutique.

The three female and one male international firm finalists are Stephanie Favotto and Mary-Cate Byrne from Baker & McKenzie, Alyson Poole from Norton Rose Fulbright and Luke Hawthorne from King & Wood Mallesons.

The four female national firm finalists are Helen Lauder from MinterEllison, Jodie Lilir from Gilbert + Tobin, Leonora Tyers from Piper Alderman and Hannah Pham from Thomson Geer Lawyers.

Rounding out the IP category are two from Griffith Hack: Katie Kavanaugh and Samin Raihan.

International firm lawyers were less prominent in the workplace relations, employment and safety category, with Peter McNulty from Ashurst and Amanda Lyras-Jones from Herbert Smith Freehills the only global firm finalists.

Eight females and one male from national and boutique firms rounded out the list.

They are Amy Zhang from Harmers Workplace Lawyers, Ekaterini Karabatos from FCB Group, Hannah Linossier from Piper Alderman, Kathryn Winter from Clayton Utz, Mia Pantechis from Maurice Blackburn Lawyers, Philippa Noakes from Seyfarth Shaw LLP, Rebecca Byun from Holding Redlich and Ian Bennett from Sparke Helmore Lawyers.

The winner will be announced at a cocktail event hosted by comedian Tommy Little at the Ivy Ballroom on 24 June – tickets on sale now.

Like this story? Read more:

QLS condemns actions of disgraced lawyer as ‘stain on the profession’

NSW proposes big justice reforms to target risk of reoffending

The legal budget breakdown 2017

Women dominate in 30 Under 30
lawyersweekly logo
Promoted content
Recommended by Spike Native Network
more from lawyers weekly
LCA president Fiona McLeod SC
Aug 17 2017
Where social fault lines meet the justice gap in Aus
After just returning from a tour of the Northern Territory, LCA president Fiona McLeod SC speaks wit...
Marriage equality flag
Aug 17 2017
ALHR backs High Court challenge to marriage equality postal vote
Australian Lawyers for Human Rights (ALHR) has voiced its support for a constitutional challenge to ...
Give advice
Aug 17 2017
A-G issues advice on judiciary’s public presence
Commonwealth Attorney-General George Brandis QC has offered his advice on the public presence of jud...
Allens managing partner Richard Spurio, image courtesy Allens' website
Jun 21 2017
Promo season at Allens
A group of lawyers at Allens have received promotions across its PNG and Australian offices. ...
May 11 2017
Partner exits for in-house role
A Victorian lawyer has left the partnership of a national firm to start a new gig with state governm...
Esteban Gomez
May 11 2017
National firm recruits ‘major asset’
A national law firm has announced it has appointed a new corporate partner who brings over 15 years'...
Nicole Rich
May 16 2017
Access to justice for young transgender Australians
Reform is looming for the process that young transgender Australians and their families must current...
Geoff Roberson
May 11 2017
The lighter side of the law: when law and comedy collide
On the face of it, there doesn’t seem to be much that is amusing about the law, writes Geoff Rober...
May 10 2017
Advocate’s immunity – without fear or without favour but not both
On 29 March 2017, the High Court handed down its decision in David Kendirjian v Eugene Lepore & ...