find the latest legal job
Senior Associate - Litigation & Dispute Resolution
Category: Litigation and Dispute Resolution | Location: Melbourne CBD & Inner Suburbs Melbourne VIC
· Come work for a firm ranked in Lawyers Weekly Top 25 Attraction Firms
View details
Associate - Workplace Relations & Safety
Category: Industrial Relations and Employment Law | Location: Brisbane CBD & Inner Suburbs Brisbane QLD
· Employer of choice · Strong team culture
View details
Freelance Lawyers
Category: Banking and Finance Law | Location: All Perth WA
· Freelance opportunities through Vario from Pinsent Masons
View details
Freelance Lawyers
Category: Other | Location: All Adelaide SA
· • Qualified lawyer with a strong academic background
View details
Freelance Lawyers
Category: Other | Location: All Melbourne VIC
· • Qualified lawyer with a strong academic background
View details
Lawyers recognised for helping arts community

Lawyers recognised for helping arts community

The Australian lawyers who volunteered their time to the arts community in 2011 have been recognised at the Arts Law Centre’s annual Pro Bono Awards Night held on 2 April.

Twenty-nine lawyers were recognised for their contribution and were presented with an award from the president of the Arts Law Centre, Justice Margaret Beazley (pictured). Many other lawyers who contributed to the services of the Arts Law Centre throughout 2011 were also acknowledged.

“Without the support of the 200-plus pro bono lawyers, our services would grind to a halt,” said Beazley, who was the first woman appointed to the NSW Court of Appeal and has held the position of president of the Arts Law Centre since 2011.

Each year, the Arts Law Centre commissions an emerging artist to produce a limited edition print. These prints were presented to those lawyers who provided an exceptional level of assistance through the Centre’s pro bono legal advice service.

“Their contributions are quite diverse, very valuable and much appreciated,” said the executive director of the Arts Law Centre, Robyn Ayres. “If we added up all the hours of work they provide it would be worth over a million dollars to the arts community.”

Ayres also acknowledged the contributions made by the daytime volunteers, many of whom were law students.

Recipients of the Pro Bono Print Commission Award:
•    Ben Kay, Digby Law
•    David Steward, Wrays
•    David Vodicka, Media Arts Lawyers
•    Donnie Harris, Roberts Nehmer McKee Lawyers
•    Harold Littler, McKays Solicitors
•    James Samargis, Victorian Bar
•    Jeremy Storer,  Storers Legal
•    Jules Munro, Simpsons
•    Kenneth Ti, Phang Legal
•    Kim Pettigrew, Vivid Wireless
•    Marie Foyle, Turner International
•    Mark Davidson, Davidson Law
•    Melanie Bouton, Freehills
•    Melissa Sanghera, Freehills
•    Michael Easton, Michael Easton Legal
•    Michael Tucak, Creative Legal
•    Rohan Higgins, Black Stone Chambers
•    Sarah Cameron, McDonald Partners
•    Stephen Boyle, Stephen Boyle
•    Stephen Digby, Digby Law
•    Tracey Wren, Netspace
•    Zero Partos, Victorian Bar
•    Kristin Stammer, Freehills
•    Jane Witter, Telstra
•    Mary Saywell Baker & McKenzie
•    Scott McDonald & Alex Parker DLA Piper
•    Sarah Lux, Allens Arthur Robinson
•    Garry Beath, Minter Ellison
•    David Jenaway & Stephen Penglis, Freehills

Like this story? Read more:

QLS condemns actions of disgraced lawyer as ‘stain on the profession’

NSW proposes big justice reforms to target risk of reoffending

The legal budget breakdown 2017

Lawyers recognised for helping arts community
lawyersweekly logo
Promoted content
Recommended by Spike Native Network
more from lawyers weekly
Oct 23 2017
How to fail well
The legal profession is due for an attitude adjustment when it comes to perceived failures, accordin...
Oct 23 2017
Lawyers slam rushed consultation for SA repeat offenders bill
The Law Society of South Australia has expressed concern for a proposal to roll out new laws amendin...
Oct 23 2017
The pursuit of happiness in the law
A panel of legal experts have explored how to define success in the legal profession, and how lawyer...
Allens managing partner Richard Spurio, image courtesy Allens' website
Jun 21 2017
Promo season at Allens
A group of lawyers at Allens have received promotions across its PNG and Australian offices. ...
May 11 2017
Partner exits for in-house role
A Victorian lawyer has left the partnership of a national firm to start a new gig with state governm...
Esteban Gomez
May 11 2017
National firm recruits ‘major asset’
A national law firm has announced it has appointed a new corporate partner who brings over 15 years'...
Nicole Rich
May 16 2017
Access to justice for young transgender Australians
Reform is looming for the process that young transgender Australians and their families must current...
Geoff Roberson
May 11 2017
The lighter side of the law: when law and comedy collide
On the face of it, there doesn’t seem to be much that is amusing about the law, writes Geoff Rober...
May 10 2017
Advocate’s immunity – without fear or without favour but not both
On 29 March 2017, the High Court handed down its decision in David Kendirjian v Eugene Lepore & ...