Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.

Victoria nabs 25 new senior counsel

Team members

The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court has announced the appointment of 25 new senior counsel for the state.

The 25 new silks are: Raymond Gibson, Andrew Ingram, William Lye, Francis O’Loughlin, Peter Rozen, Andrew Palmer, David McAndrew, Colin Mandy, Richard Dalton, Elizabeth Brimer, Patrick Hannebery, Tomo Boston, Jennifer Firkin, Diana Piekusis, Christopher Archibald, Dr Andrew Hanak, Fiona Forsyth, Anthony Strahan, Cam Truong, Dr Catherine Button, Frances Dalziel, Dr Michael Rush, Juliet Forsyth, Scott Smith and Eugene Wheelahan.

Chief Justice Anne Ferguson said the new silks were chosen from 84 applicants, made up of 66 men and 18 women.

“The new silks are drawn from a wide range of backgrounds and areas of practice, and are highly regarded advocates and leaders in their fields,” the Chief Justice said.

“The successful applicants range in age from 43 to 61 and include the appointment of seven women.”

The Chief Justice added that of the 2,073 practising counsel in Victoria as at June 2018, 29.3 per cent were women. For barristers of 15 years’ experience and under, women comprise more than 40 per cent, she said.


“Ideally, the composition of all levels of the legal profession would reflect the gender, cultural and ethnic diversity of Australian society,” the Chief Justice said.

“Although there is a long way to go in this regard, we are edging forward to greater diversity and the senior counsel appointed [this week] are part of that.”

Emma Ryan

Emma Ryan

Emma Ryan is the deputy head of editorial at Momentum Media and editor of its legal publication, Lawyers Weekly. 

She graduated from Charles Sturt University with a Bachelor of Communications (Journalism).

Email Emma on: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

Recommended by Spike Native Network