33 appointed to AAT

33 appointed to AAT

04 December 2018 By Jerome Doraisamy
Scales of justice

The federal government has named 33 new part-time appointments to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

In a statement, Attorney-General Christian Porter said the appointments will “specifically help the tribunal manage its large caseload of migration and refugee matters”.


The 33 persons appointed – 23 men, 10 women – are all barristers or solicitors who are “highly-qualified to undertake these roles”, Mr Porter noted.

All have been appointed as part-time members, allowing them to be called upon by the AAT as needed to ensure the caseload within the Migration and Refugee Division is appropriately managed.


“The AAT serves an important function of providing independent merits review and the government is committed to ensuring it has the resources it needs to provide high-quality reviews with minimum delay,” Mr Porter said.

“Migration and refugee matters are the dominant part of the AAT’s work and the specialist skills of these appointees will provide the AAT with a more effective and flexible way of managing this work.”

The new appointees are: Mr Paul Adami, Mr Michael Biviano, Mr Peter Booth, Mr Michael Bradford, Mr Brian Camilleri, Ms Genevieve Cleary, Mr Damian Creedon, Mr Robert Cumming, Ms Margaret Forrest, Mr Peter Haag, Ms Lisa Hannon, Mr Jason Harkess, Ms Noelle Hossen, Mr Roger Maguire, Mr Benjamin Murphy, Mr Peter Newton, Mr Glenn O’Brien, Mr Peter O’Farrell, Mr Robert O’Neill, Ms Amanda Pearson, Ms Vanessa Plain, Ms Tamara Quinn, Mr Darren Renton, Mr Frank Russo, Mr Gregory Sarginson, Mr Douglas Shirrefs, Mr Jens Streit, Mr David Thompson, Mr Andrew Tragardh, Mr Dominic Triaca, Ms Elizabeth Tueno, Ms Amanda Upton and Ms Lynda Young.

33 appointed to AAT
Intro image
lawyersweekly logo
The Women in Law Awards is the benchmark for excellence, recognising the empowering women influencing the Australian legal profession, celebrating the female leaders, role models and future champions of the industry. Register for the waitlist today for the opportunity to attend this remarkable awards ceremony and network with top legal professionals and fellow peers.
Visit womeninlaw.com.au