Goodbye job applications, hello dream career
Seize control of your career and design the future you deserve with LW career

LIV appoints 5

The Law Institute of Victoria has appointed three inaugural non-member directors and two deputy presidents, following a number of structural changes.

user iconLauren Croft 12 August 2022 Big Law
LIV appoints 5
expand image

Robin Buckham, Simon Hann and Michael Liu have all been appointed as inaugural non-member directors to serve on the LIV board from 8 August 2022 — and follow a transition to a new board structure and changes to the LIV constitution after an overwhelming vote for change by LIV members in late April.

In addition, the board has appointed Maurice Blackburn principal lawyer Tom Ballantyne and MinterEllison Melbourne managing partner Matthew Hibbins as deputy presidents.


The newly appointed non-member directors join nine previously elected member directors who took their positions on 1 July: Tania Wolff, Tom Ballantyne, Matthew Hibbins, Molina Asthana, Louisa Gibbs, Rebecca Johnston-Ryan, Rodd Levy, Juliana Smith, and Kathy Wilson. Ms Wolff’s position as president continued under the transitional arrangements.

Ms Wolff welcomed the new appointments and said they enhanced the board’s diversity and provided a broader mix of overall skill, knowledge and competencies from outside the legal profession.

“I congratulate Robin, Simon and Michael on their appointments to the LIV board, the first to be appointed as non-member directors of the LIV.

“Having a broader, more varied, more diverse range of skills, experience and perspectives around the board table will strengthen the board’s ability to deal with present and future challenges and opportunities to ensure the LIV and its members can move forward confidently into the future,” she said.

“I also congratulate Tom and Matthew on their appointment as deputy presidents and look forward to working closely with them through the next exciting chapter for the LIV.”

In accordance with the new constitution, one-third of the member directors will retire at each general meeting commencing 2023, and the board has aligned the non-member terms with this rotation cycle. The annual appointment of the president and deputy presidents will begin in November 2022.

You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member for free today!