find the latest legal job
Senior Associate - Litigation & Dispute Resolution
Category: Litigation and Dispute Resolution | Location: Melbourne CBD & Inner Suburbs Melbourne VIC
· Come work for a firm ranked in Lawyers Weekly Top 25 Attraction Firms
View details
Associate - Workplace Relations & Safety
Category: Industrial Relations and Employment Law | Location: Brisbane CBD & Inner Suburbs Brisbane QLD
· Employer of choice · Strong team culture
View details
Freelance Lawyers
Category: Banking and Finance Law | Location: All Perth WA
· Freelance opportunities through Vario from Pinsent Masons
View details
Freelance Lawyers
Category: Other | Location: All Adelaide SA
· • Qualified lawyer with a strong academic background
View details
Freelance Lawyers
Category: Other | Location: All Melbourne VIC
· • Qualified lawyer with a strong academic background
View details
Awards attract leading lights

Awards attract leading lights

Judges for the Women in Law Awards have been announced, encompassing a range of high-profile names from across the profession.

The 20 judges have the difficult task ahead of narrowing down submissions to the Women in Law Awards to reveal the highest achievers across the legal sector.

Big names who have joined the judging panel include Law Council of Australia president Duncan McConnell and Australian Law Reform Commission president Rosalind Croucher.

The Association of Corporate Counsel's vice president and managing director, Tanya Khan, and Victorian Women Lawyers convener Kirsten Adams are also on board.

Sparing time from the courtroom are Federal Court of Australia judge, the Honourable Justice Shane Marshall and Supreme Court of NSW Court of Appeal president, the Honourable Justice Margaret Beazley AO.

Stepping out of various law schools to assist are Professor Fariborz Moshirian, Professor Lesley Hitchens, Professor Joellen Riley, Julie Clarke, Dr Maggie Hall and Dr Vincent Bicudo de Castro.

Submissions for the Women in Law awards close on Friday 30 October. Winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Melbourne on 27 November.

Full list of judges

Duncan McConnell, president, Law Council of Australia

Rosalind Croucher, president, Australian Law Reform Commission

Tanya Khan, vice president and managing director, ACC (formerly ACLA)

Kirsten Adams, convener, Victorian Women Lawyers

The Honourable Justice Shane Marshall, judge, Federal Court of Australia

The Honourable Justice Margaret Beazley AO, Court of Appeal president, Supreme Court of NSW

Caroline Kirton QC, barrister and arbitrator

Michelle Sindler, international arbitrator

Caroline Kenny QC, barrister and arbitrator

Ruth Barson, senior lawyer, Human Rights Law Centre

Alice Pung, author, social commentator, lawyer

Prof Fariborz Moshirian, director of the Institute of Global Finance, UNSW Business School

Prof Lesley Hitchens, dean - Faculty of Law, University of Technology Sydney

Prof Joellen Riley, dean and professor of labour law, University of Sydney

Julie Clarke, associate professor, Deakin Law School

Dr Maggie Hall, law lecturer, UWS

Dr Vincent Bicudo de Castro, lecturer in accounting, Deakin Business School

Joseph Catanzariti, vice president, Fair Work Commission

John Chisholm, owner, John Chisholm Consulting

Philip Gleed, director, Gleed Legal

Ted Dwyer, director, Dwyer Consulting

Prof Barry Cooper, associate dean, industry engagement and partnerships, Deakin Business School

Linda Baxter, director continuing professional development, Leo Cussen Centre for Law

Like this story? Subscribe to our free newsletter and receive Lawyers Weekly every day straight to your inbox!

Like this story? Read more:

QLS condemns actions of disgraced lawyer as ‘stain on the profession’

NSW proposes big justice reforms to target risk of reoffending

The legal budget breakdown 2017

Awards attract leading lights
lawyersweekly logo
Promoted content
Recommended by Spike Native Network
more from lawyers weekly
Oct 20 2017
Podcast: One of law’s most infamous alumni – in conversation with Julian Morrow
In this episode of The Lawyers Weekly Show, Melissa Coade is joined by The Chaser’s Julian Morrow....
Oct 20 2017
High Court overturns ‘excessive’ anti-protest legislation
Bob Brown’s recent victory in the High Court over the Tasmanian government was a win for fundament...
Oct 20 2017
Changes to Australian citizenship laws blocked
Attempts to beef up the requirements to obtain Australian citizenship were thwarted this week, after...
Allens managing partner Richard Spurio, image courtesy Allens' website
Jun 21 2017
Promo season at Allens
A group of lawyers at Allens have received promotions across its PNG and Australian offices. ...
May 11 2017
Partner exits for in-house role
A Victorian lawyer has left the partnership of a national firm to start a new gig with state governm...
Esteban Gomez
May 11 2017
National firm recruits ‘major asset’
A national law firm has announced it has appointed a new corporate partner who brings over 15 years'...
Nicole Rich
May 16 2017
Access to justice for young transgender Australians
Reform is looming for the process that young transgender Australians and their families must current...
Geoff Roberson
May 11 2017
The lighter side of the law: when law and comedy collide
On the face of it, there doesn’t seem to be much that is amusing about the law, writes Geoff Rober...
May 10 2017
Advocate’s immunity – without fear or without favour but not both
On 29 March 2017, the High Court handed down its decision in David Kendirjian v Eugene Lepore & ...