Australian Law Awards judges revealed

By Lara Bullock|14 July 2016

The judges for this year’s Lawyers Weekly Australian Law Awards have been announced.

The Australian Law Awards recognise the best lawyers across all levels, legal teams across all practice areas and law firms of all sizes from across the country.

This year there are a total of 32 categories, after new categories were introduced in response to demand.

A total of 27 high-profile judges (listed below) have been given the task of reviewing the record number of submissions to select the winner for each category.


Judges include the Legal Services Commissioner of NSW, three law society presidents, four law school deans, barristers, academics and other legal industry figures.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner on 2 September 2016 at Four Points by Sheraton.

Full list of judges below:

Alexandra Rose, senior manager of group compliance and regulatory affairs, IAG

Assoc Prof Julie Clarke, associate professor, Deakin Law School


Caroline Kirton QC, senior counsel, Victorian Bar

Damian Sturzaker, vice-president, CIArb

David Archbold, managing director, International Property Group

David Caruso, president, Law Society of SA

Elizabeth Needham, president, Law Society of WA

Fariborz Moshirian, director of the Institute of Global Finance, UNSW Business School

Hon Justice Margaret J Beazley AO, president of the Court of Appeal, Supreme Court of NSW

John Boersig PSM, CEO, Legal Aid ACT

John McKenzie, Legal Services Commissioner of NSW, Office of the Legal Service Commissioner NSW

Joseph Catanzariti, vice-president, Fair Work Commission

Linda Baxter, director of CPD, Leo Cussen

Lisa Claes, executive director of customer delivery, ING Direct

Michelle Sindler, international arbitrator

Prof Michael Adams, dean, school of law, Western Sydney University

Prof Lesley Hitchens, dean, faculty of law, University of Technology Sydney

Prof George Williams, dean, UNSW Law

Prof John Humphrey, executive dean, Faculty of Law, QUT

Steven Sapountsis

Rashda Rana SC, barrister and arbitrator, 39 Essex Chambers

Stephanie Milione, convener, Victorian Women Lawyers

Stephen Lancken, mediator and managing director, Negocio Resolutions

Tanya Khan, vice president and managing director, Australia and Asia Pacific, ACC Australia

Ted Dwyer, director, Dwyer Consulting

Tony Dormer, board director and immediate past president, NSW Business Chamber

Vincent Bicudo de Castro, lecturer in accounting, Deakin Business School

Australian Law Awards judges revealed
Intro image
lawyersweekly logo


How utilising cryptocurrency has paid off for this law firm

How utilising cryptocurrency has paid off for this law firm

Malcolm Gittoes-Caesar

Partners ‘have to have compassion’

Natalie Lonergan and Tatiana Gotvig

Squires lands team of 4 from NRF 

The rise of state-based class action regimes

The rise of state-based class action regimes

Recommended by Spike Native Network