Goodbye job applications, hello dream career
Seize control of your career and design the future you deserve with LW career

AAT adds 2 deputy presidents, reappoints 34

In order to provide the Administrative Appeals Tribunal with continuity, stability and support to ensure its ongoing operation during its transition period, the Albanese government has appointed two new deputy presidents as well as reappointed two deputy presidents and 32 members.

user iconJerome Doraisamy 05 June 2023 Politics
expand image

Justice Lisa Hespe was appointed to the Federal Court of Australia in 2022, preceded by a 27year career as a lawyer, including five years as a senior member of the AAT, while Justice Geoffrey Kennett was also appointed to the Federal Court of Australia in 2022, prior to which His Honour had an extensive career in the Australian Public Service, including as counsel assisting the Solicitor-General of the Commonwealth, before being called to the NSW Bar in 1998.

The new judges “bring extensive experience and expertise across a range of relevant practice areas and will enhance the AAT’s capacity to consider matters within its jurisdiction”, the A-G’s Department noted.

The news follows the appointment, in late May, of Justice Emilios Kyrou, as the new president of the AAT, who will also be the inaugural president of the administrative review body that replaces it.


The AAT, as announced by A-G Mark Dreyfus back in December, is set to be abolished.

Elsewhere, 34 reappointments have also been made to the AAT on a short-term basis until 22 December 2023, including 32 members and two deputy presidents.

“Consistent with the requirements for short-term reappointments to the AAT, views were sought from the acting president of the AAT about members’ suitability for short-term reappointment and the ongoing operational needs of the AAT,” the department said.

Jan Redfern PSM and Ian Molloy have both been reappointed as deputy presidents of the AAT.

Elsewhere, the following 32 have been reappointed as members: David Barker, Michael Biviano, Peter Booth, Michael Bradford, Dr Christhilde Breheny, Nicole Burns, Justine Clarke, Christine Cody, Damian Creedon, Brendan Darcy, Nicola Findson, Tania Flood, Margaret Forrest, Nicholas Gaudion, Peter Haag, Linda Holub, Noelle Hossen, Penelope Hunter, Christine Kannis, Roger Maguire, Deborah Mitchell, Peter Newton SC, Professor Julie Quinlivan, Tamara Quinn, Frank Russo, Roslyn Smidt, David Thompson, Ian Thompson, Dominic Triaca, Peter Vlahos, Brigadier (Ret’d) Anthony Warner AM LVO, and Paul Windsor.

The appointments, the A-G’s Department said, provide the AAT with continuity, stability and support to ensure its ongoing operation during this transition period.

Speaking about the reform process, Mr Dreyfus said that the federal government is continuing work to develop legislation to establish a new federal administrative review body.

“The recent consultation process received 120 formal submissions and 287 short-form responses to the public issues paper,” he outlined.

“These submissions, together with contributions from stakeholders at events held during the consultation period, will inform the design of the new body, as will the advice from the Expert Advisory Group chaired by former High Court justice, the Honourable Patrick Keane AC KC.”

“On behalf of the government, I congratulate Justice Hespe, Justice Kennett, and the reappointed deputy presidents and members on their respective appointments,” the A-G said.

You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member for free today!