Goodbye job applications, hello dream career
Seize control of your career and design the future you deserve with LW career

Supreme Court judges, former state A-G among lawyers recognised in 2024 Australia Day Honours

The 2024 Australia Day Honours list has named numerous legal professionals as officers of the Order of Australia (AO), in addition to others being recognised for their contributions.

user iconLauren Croft 30 January 2024 Politics
expand image

The 2024 Australia Day Honours list recognises and celebrates 1,042 Australians. This year, four legal professionals were appointed officers of the Order of Australia (AO) in the general division.

The Honourable Justice Jenny May Blokland has been appointed an officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in this year’s Australia Day honours list for distinguished service to the judiciary, to the law, to professional associations, and to the community.

Her Honour has been a justice on the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory since 2010 and president of the Australian Institute of Judicial Administration since 2021. She was also the Chief Magistrate of the Northern Territory Court of Summary Jurisdiction from 2006 to 2010.


In addition, the Honourable Larissa Tahireh Giddings has been appointed officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to the people and Parliament of Tasmania and to the community. Ms Giddings was attorney-general and minister for justice in the state from 2008 to 2011 and was the youngest woman ever elected to an Australian Parliament at the time.

The Honourable Justice Judith Clair Kelly has also been appointed officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to the judiciary, to the law, to professional associations, and to women. Her Honour has served as justice of the Supreme Court of the Northern Territory since 2009 and as president of the Australian Judicial Officers Association from 2018 to 2020.

Finally, the Honourable John Roderick McKechnie KC has been appointed officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for distinguished service to the law, to the judiciary, and to the community of Western Australia. His Honour has been commissioner of the West Australian Corruption and Crime Commission since 2015 and was previously a senior judge for the Supreme Court of Western Australia from 2012 to 2015.

The Australian Honours and Awards system recognises “the outstanding service and contributions of Australians”, according to a statement from the Governor-General.

“Recipients come from right across the country and from all walks of life. While some are well known, the majority are unsung heroes,” the statement read.

“While typically they haven’t sought thanks or recognition, they deserve both. The Honours and Awards system gives the nation a chance to celebrate and acknowledge those who work tirelessly to improve local communities and to make Australia a better place.”

Other legal professionals who were recognised in this year’s honours list include:

  • Dr Ian James Hardingham KC, former commissioner of the Victorian Law Reform Commission (AM)
  • Emerita Professor Lesley Patricia Hitchens, Emeritus Professor of Law UTS Sydney (AM)
  • Geoffrey William Hone, former chairman of the Law Council of Australia taxation committee (AM)
  • Peter Ernest Lowry OAM, barrister and president and chairman, Seaborn, Broughton and Walford Foundation (AM)
  • Chief Judge Elizabeth Jane Morris, Local Court of the Northern Territory (AM)
  • Richard Charles Potok, adjunct professor, faculty of laws, UTS Sydney (AM)
  • The Honourable Justice Grant Theo Riethmuller, Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia (AM)
  • Jane Anne Sanders, principal solicitor, The Shopfront Youth Legal Centre (AM)
  • Suzanna Sheed, director, SMR Legal, and independent member for Shepparton, Victoria (AM)
  • Diana Clare Taylor, Diana Taylor Legal Consulting (AM)
  • The late Sophie Jessica Trevitt, Change the Record (AM)
  • Her Honour Judge Wendy Anne Wilmoth, County Court of Victoria (AM)
  • Richard Patrick Dalton, Victoria King’s counsel (OAM)
  • John Norman Gallimore, Multicap Limited (OAM)
  • Eris Daniel Gleeson, Gordon Garling Moffitt Lawyers (OAM)
  • Flavia Gobbo, WorkCover Queensland (OAM)
  • Evelyn Marie Halls, Australian Olympic Committee (OAM)
  • Professor Paul David Harpur, The University of Queensland School of Law (OAM)
  • Robert Edward McKeown, former Glebe Society president and former McKeown Legal principal (OAM)
  • Nicola Minicozzi, director, Minicozzi Lawyers (OAM)
  • Raelene Helen Parker, Tamworth Legal Aid office (OAM)
  • Geoffrey Pickard, Justice Department of Tasmania (OAM)
  • Paul Edwin Rogers, former foundation manager, Parramatta Community Justice Clinic (OAM)
Every effort has been made to include members of the legal profession in the above list. If we have missed anyone, please get in touch at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Lauren Croft

Lauren Croft

Lauren is a journalist at Lawyers Weekly and graduated with a Bachelor of Journalism from Macleay College. Prior to joining Lawyers Weekly, she worked as a trade journalist for media and travel industry publications and Travel Weekly. Originally born in England, Lauren enjoys trying new bars and restaurants, attending music festivals and travelling. She is also a keen snowboarder and pre-pandemic, spent a season living in a French ski resort.

You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member for free today!