Goodbye job applications, hello dream career
Seize control of your career and design the future you deserve with LW career

Australian Bar welcomes new president

The Australian Bar Association welcomed the election of its new president, Jennifer Batrouney QC, who will serve for the 2018–19 year, representing ABA’s 6,000 barristers.

user iconJerome Doraisamy 19 November 2018 The Bar
Australian Bar welcomes new president
expand image

Ms Batrouney, who boasts over 25 years’ experience as a barrister, is the immediate past president of the Victorian Bar and of the Tax Bar Assosciation and is only the fourth female president of the ABA since its establishment in 1963.

She is also a former president of Australian Women Lawyers and is “a leading revenue and charity law silk”, according to ABA.


Ms Batrouney said that during her term as president, she will continue to promote the high-quality specialist advocacy and advisory services provided by Australia’s barristers, both domestically and abroad.

“I will ensure that the ABA draws upon the experience of its members to advance public debate on law reform and legal policy issues, uphold the rule of law and protect the independence of the legal profession and the judiciary,” she said in a statement.

“In particular, I will encourage the highest standards of ethics and diversity across the profession. I congratulate and look forward to working with the new executive and council of the ABA.”

She also paid tribute to the work of the outgoing president, Noel Hutley SC, in particular, “for his work in strengthening the ABA committee structure, in scrutinising the proposed family law reforms and for his advocacy in supporting the independence of the judiciary”.

Other ABA office bearers elected for the 2018–19 year include: Matthew Howard SC and Gavin (Sandy) Thompson QC as vice presidents, Kenneth Archer as treasurer, Michael McHugh SC as honorary secretary and Ian Robertson SC as chair of the Advocacy Training Council.

You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member for free today!