Goodbye job applications, hello dream career
Seize control of your career and design the future you deserve with LW career

72 reappointed to AAT

The federal government has reappointed two non-judicial deputy presidents, 14 senior members, and 56 members to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal.

user iconJerome Doraisamy 26 June 2024 The Bar
expand image

The 72 appointees are current members of the AAT, whose existing appointments expire later this week, on 30 June.

Each appointee is set to transition to the Administrative Review Tribunal (ART) upon its commencement, following the announcement in late 2022 to abolish the AAT.

In a statement, Attorney-General Mark Dreyfus said the reappointments will ensure that the AAT “maintains capacity to hear matters and avoid unnecessary delays for applicants until the new ART commences”.


The ART is set to be, the A-G’s Department proclaimed, a “user-focused, efficient, accessible, independent and fair tribunal”.

It will replace the AAT as soon as practicable before the end of 2024.

“On behalf of the government, I congratulate each of these members on their reappointment to the AAT,” A-G Dreyfus said.

The reappointed non-judicial deputy presidents are Kathryn Millar and Shahyar Roushan.

The senior members whose existing appointments have been extended are Margret Bourke, Nicole Burns, Gabrielle Cullen, Tamara Hamilton-Noy, Michael Ison, Dr Nicholas Manetta, Alison Mercer, Louise Nicholls, Andrew Nikolic AM CSC, Robert Olding, the Honourable John Rau SC, Meenakshi Sripathy, Linda Symons, and Alexander Ward AM.

And the reappointed members are: Robyn Anderson, William Appleton, Wendy Banfield, David Barker, Angela Beckett, Dr Alexandra Bordujenko, Dr Christhilde Breheny, Moira Brophy, Tina Bubutievski, Anna Burke AO, Alexander Byers, Dr Jennifer Cavanagh, Justine Clarke, Christine Cody, Damian Creedon, Rachel Da Costa, Professor John Devereux, Antonio Dronjic, Peter Emmerton, Dr Stewart Fenwick, Tania Flood, Lana Gallagher, Nicholas Gaudion, Nathan Goetz, Anne Grant, Peter Haag, George Hallwood, Genevieve Hamilton, Dr Jessica Henderson, Dr Susan Hoffman, Linda Holub, Penelope Hunter, Christine Kannis, Nora Lamont, Julia Leonard, Simon Letch, Kate Malyon, Dr Geoffrey Markov, Melissa McAdam, David McCulloch, Andrew McLean-Williams, Alan McMurran, Lilly Mojsin, Marianna Moustafine, Jade Murphy, Paul Noonan, Steven Norman, Jason Pennell, Professor Julie Quinlivan, Tamara Quinn, Peter Ranson, Frank Russo, Wan Shum, David Thompson, Richard West, and Paul Windsor.

The federal government will unveil the commencement date of the ART, as well as further appointments to the AAT and the ART, in due course, the A-G’s Department added.