Goodbye job applications, hello dream career
Seize control of your career and design the future you deserve with LW career

Australia’s top female legal professionals revealed

Lawyers Weekly, in partnership with Taylor Root, is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 Women in Law Awards.

user iconEmma Musgrave 23 November 2018 Big Law
Women in Law
expand image

This year’s Women in Law Awards saw over 500 people come to Melbourne’s Sofitel on Collins to celebrate the women who have challenged, influenced or enhanced the practise of law in Australia.

Guests were treated to a three-course meal, as well as entertainment by band Carla Toiano and MC Claire Hooper as the recipients of each of the 21 hotly contested categories were named.

Lawyers Weekly would like to thank all of those in attendance for their support, and congratulates all the winners on their success.


The winners for the 2018 Women in Law Awards are:

Academic of the Year

Rachel Kessel, Monash University and Pracademix

Barrister of the Year

Michelle Sharpe, Castan Chambers/Victorian Bar

Dealmaker of the Year

Philippa Stone, Herbert Smith Freehills

Executive of the Year

Evie Bruce, King & Wood Mallesons

General Counsel of the Year

Rachel Launders, Nine Entertainment Co

HR Professional of the Year

Louise Ferris, McCullough Robertson Lawyers

In-House Lawyer of the Year

Melissa Davies, Lucas Total Contract Solutions

Law Student of the Year 

Sophie Tversky, Monash University

Marketing Communications Executive of the Year

Claudette Yazbek, LegalVision

Mentor of the Year

Jennifer Harris, Clayton Utz

Not-for-profit Lawyer of the Year

Rebecca Tisdale, Deakin Law Clinic

Partner of the Year

Gitanjali Bajaj, DLA Piper Australia

Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year

Kate Gillingham, Baker McKenzie

Senior Associate of the Year

Lauree Coci, Clayton Utz

Sole Practitioner of the Year

Simone Tierney, Lodestar Legal

Special Counsel of the Year

Sarah Andrews, Webb Henderson

Thought Leader of the Year

Emma Heuston, LegalVision

Young Gun of the Year

Lena Chapple, Thales Australia

Boutique Diversity Law Firm of the Year


Diversity Law Firm of the Year

Maurice Blackburn Lawyers

Women in Law Excellence Award

Simone Tierney, Lodestar Legal