Goodbye job applications, hello dream career
Seize control of your career and design the future you deserve with LW career

Finalists named for 2019 Corporate Counsel Awards

Lawyers Weekly, in partnership with Lawyers On Demand, is proud to present the finalists for this year's Corporate Counsel Awards.

user iconEmma Musgrave 17 January 2019 Corporate Counsel
2019 Corporate Counsel Awards lawyers weekly finalists
expand image

Now in its third year, the Lawyers Weekly Corporate Counsel Awards, principal partnered by Lawyers On Demand since its inception, is a black-tie event which celebrates the success of individual in-house lawyers and legal teams across all industries in Australia.

This year’s ceremony will feature 128 finalists across 25 hotly-contested categories, with the winners of each category set to cement their spot among Australia's elite corporate counsel community.

Winners of Corporate Counsel Awards will be revealed at Sydney’s Hyatt Regency on Friday, 29 March 2019. Prior to the ceremony kicking off, Lawyers Weekly will host the inaugural Corporate Counsel Summit from 9am until 4.30pm. The summit will bring together local and global in-house powerhouses for a range of sessions and panel discussions relevant to in-house lawyers and legal teams, including an opening keynote from Google US’s head of legal operations, technology and strategy, Mary O’Carroll.


To purchase tickets to the Corporate Counsel Awards, or to attend the full-day event, click here. For sponsorship enquires, please contact William Magee at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or (02) 8045 2057.

The finalists for the 2019 Corporate Counsel Awards are:


Academia, Training and Education Lawyer of the Year

Trisha Mok, Study Group

Danielle Barry, The University of Queensland

Elizabeth Grinston, The University of NSW

Construction and Real Estate Lawyer of the Year

Samuel Gobraiel, Freyssinet Australia

Belinda Murray, BGC (Australia)

Jacob Leslie, CPB Contractors

Andrew Selim, Home Consortium

Trudy Kean, NRTIJV - John Holland and CPB Contractors

Laura Iskander, UrbanGrowth NSW Development Corporation

Davina Greenberg, 151 Property

Defence Lawyer of the Year

Alexander Dylan Griffith, Airbus Australia Pacific

Nicholas Sedgwick, Thales Australia

Eric Dale, Nova Systems

Financial Services Lawyer of the Year

Tien Tifa, Toyota Financial Services

Fiona Harding, Bank of Queensland

Helen Mediati, Cuscal Ltd

Katerina Paras, formerly from Illion Australia

Andrew Sorensen, Equifax Australia

Daniel Tirado, Toyota Finance Australia Ltd

FMCG Lawyer of the Year

Anna Kuperman, Integria Healthcare

Lily Wong, PepsiCo Australia & New Zealand

Richard Conway, Coca-Cola Amatil

Therese Triemstra, Metcash Trading Ltd

Erin Walford, Domino’s Pizza Enterprises Ltd

Fiona Anderson, Treasury Wine Estates

Pritasha Kumar, PepsiCo Australia & New Zealand

Jennifer Terjesen-Soem, Metcash Trading

Karen Perret, Mondelez International, Inc.

Government Lawyer of the Year

Peter Le, City of Rockingham

Laura Iskander, UrbanGrowth NSW Development Corporation

Matthew Thornton, Bayside City Council

Gareth Davies, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science

Samantha Perussich, Office of Public Prosecutions

Ian Deane, Australian Government Solicitor

Ria Manguray, Tourism Australia

Annette Musolino, Department of Human Services

Dr Madeleine Hartley, WaterNSW

Healthcare, Pharmaceuticals and Biotech Lawyer of the Year

Anna Kuperman, Integria Healthcare

Alexandra Sweeney, GenesisCare

Lucy Basten, Genea

Justine Raczkowski, Zenitas Healthcare

Daniel Murnane, ResMed

Kate Messiter, iNova Pharmaceuticals

John Wu, Bayer Australia

Gabrielle Hirsch, Olivia Newton-John Cancer Research Institute

Iresha Herath, Western Health

Industrial, Materials and Manufacturing Lawyer of the Year

Paul Gregory, WesTrac

Belinda Murray, BGC (Australia)

Infrastructure, Utilities and Energy Lawyer of the Year

Dr Madeleine Hartley, WaterNSW

Emma Wartski-Coonan, AGL Energy

Johnny Short, Transurban

Paula Edwards-Moffat, Tesla Motors Australia

Nigel Lowry, Ausgrid

Jacob Leslie, CPB Contractors

Serge Radojevic, Idemitsu Australia Resources

Insurance Lawyer of the Year

Marea Hickie, Woolworths

Paul Watkins, Stewart Title

Not-for-profit Lawyer of the Year

Elaine Leong, The Benevolent Society

Marion Hemphill, Australian Red Cross Blood Service

Gabrielle Hirsch, Olivia Newton-John Cancer Research Institute

Katrin O’Sullivan, The Fred Hollows Foundation

Sports and Entertainment Lawyer of the Year

Sunil Puranikmath, Telstra

Chris Thian, Telstra

Ishan Karunanayake, TMRW Music

Emma German, Stan Entertainment

Joseph Smith-Davies, Fox Sports Australia

Adam Lister, AEG Ogden

James Nguyen, TEG

Amanda Ong, NOVA Entertainment

Technology, Media and Telecommunications Lawyer of the Year

Sunil Puranikmath, Telstra

Lindsay Dick, Power Ledger

Lisa Powell, Optus

Elizabeth Duncan, InfoTrack

Matthew Morosin, Micro Focus

Sarah Turner, REA Group

Verity White, Telstra

Amanda Ong, NOVA Entertainment

Simon McDonald, IBM ANZ

Travel, Tourism and Hospitality Lawyer of the Year

Yvette Sowell, WHSmith Australia

Dennis Tuan-Mu, Delaware North

Ria Manguray, Tourism Australia

Julia Taylor, Carnival Australia

Chris Todd, Ardent Leisure Group



Construction and Real Estate Team of the Year

Stockland Corporation

BMD Group

Vicinity Centres

BGC (Australia) 


Financial Services Team of the Year

TAL Life Ltd


Cuscal Ltd


Bank of Queensland

FMCG Team of the Year

Coca-Cola Amatil

Domino’s Pizza Enterprises

PepsiCo Australia & New Zealand

Healthcare, Pharmaceuticals and Biotech Team of the Year

EBOS Group


iNova Pharmaceuticals

Western Health

Baxter Healthcare

Industrial, Materials and Manufacturing Team of the Year

Boral Australia - Industrial Relations

BGC (Australia)

Infrastructure, Utilities and Energy Team of the Year


Origin Energy




Yancoal Australia 

Insurance Team of the Year

TAL Life

AIA Australia 

Not-for-profit Team of the Year

Uniting Church in Australia

UNSW Sydney Legal Team

Sports and Entertainment Team of the Year

NOVA Entertainment


Tabcorp Holdings

Technology, Media and Telecommunications Team of the Year


Adobe Systems 


REA Group 


Vocus Group 

NOVA Entertainment

Capgemini Australia & New Zealand

WiseTech Global 

Travel, Tourism and Hospitality Team of the Year

Carnival Australia

Delaware North

Tourism Australia

You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member for free today!