Women in Law Awards finalists revealed

30 November -0001 By Emma Ryan
Women in Law Awards

Lawyers Weekly is pleased to announce the finalists for this year’s Women in Law Awards.

Now in its fifth year, the Women in Law Awards aims to recognise the achievements of women who have challenged, influenced or changed the practice of law in Australia.

This year saw a record number of submissions received across 19 highly contested categories, with 162 finalists making the cut.

The winners of the Women in Law Awards will be selected by a panel of judges and announced at a black-tie gala dinner at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins on 27 October.


To learn more about the event or to purchase tickets, click here.

The finalists for the 2016 Women in Law Awards are:

Academic of the Year

Natalie Skead, The University of Western Australia

Alexandra George, UNSW


Kim Rubenstein, ANU

Amy Maguire, University of Newcastle

Justine Rogers, UNSW

Chinelle van der Westhuizen, University of Notre Dame

Amelia Thorpe, UNSW

Barrister of the Year

Jane Needham SC, 13th Floor St James Hall

Laura Keily, Ninian Stephen Chambers

Julie Wright, Greenway Chambers

Melanie Baker, Greens List

Boutique Diversity Law Firm of the Year

Keypoint Law

Harmers Workplace Lawyers



Dealmaker of the Year

Julie Levis, Clayton Utz

Catherine Merity, DLA Piper

Elspeth Arnold, Ashurst

Sandy Mak, Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Rebecca Maslen-Stannage, Herbert Smith Freehills

Charmian Barton, HWL Ebsworth

Evie Bruce, King & Wood Mallesons

Yuen-Yee Cho, King & Wood Mallesons

Michelle Segaert, Squire Patton Boggs

Diversity Law Firm of the Year

Herbert Smith Freehills


Clayton Utz

Corrs Chambers Westgarth

DLA Piper


King & Wood Mallesons


Lipman Karas

Executive of the Year

Nicole Green, MinterEllison

Ursula Hogben, LegalVision

Michelle Dixon, Maddocks

Sue Kench, King & Wood Mallesons

Gina Szwider, Bespoke

Kate Jordan, Clayton Utz

Jessica Silberstein, Silberstein & Associates

General Counsel of the Year

Claire Bibby, Brookfield Property Partners

Rachel Scanlon, Magellan Financial Group

Katrina Johnson, Uber

Sheree Siow, AIA Australia

Lisa Evans, Australia Pacific Airports Corporation

Rachel Launders, Nine Entertainment Co.

Shoshana Shields, eBay

Elizabeth Kangro, ORIX Australia Corporation Limited

Sarah Turner, REA Group Ltd

Janine Reid, WorkCover Queensland

In-house Lawyer of the Year

Jenny Taing, Australian Securities & Investments Commission

Anna-Athanasia Dervenis, Brookfield

Jessica Norris, Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games Corporation

Diane Khoury, DEXUS Property Group

Katerina Petrogiannakis, NBN Co

Kate Jarman, Brookfield Property Partners

Katerina Paras, AdventBalance (Lawyers On Demand)

Tiffany Taleski, Avant Mutual Group

Erica Clark, IOOF Holdings Ltd

Law Student of the Year

Jessica Provost, Gordon & Barry Lawyers/Redfern Legal Centre/UNSW

Jennifer Tridgell, Macquarie University

Anna Rienstra, UNSW

Megan Applegarth, University of Queensland

Sian Lacy, Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Riana Cermak, Flinders University

Tianqin (Tina) Ye, Salvos Legal/University of Sydney

Katerina Dandanis, Monash University

Alena Zoric, Smith Leonard Fahey Lawyers

Brigid McManus, UNSW

Marketing Communications Executive of the Year

Lauren White, DLA Piper

Maia Keerie, Shine Lawyers

Claudette Yazbek, LegalVision

Sarah Chisman-Duffy, Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Kathy Zmijewski, McDonald Murholme

Tracey Whyte, Piper Alderman

Renee Bennie, Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Marnie Reid, DibbsBarker

Nicola Firth, Squire Patton Boggs

Melanie Smith, Hall & Wilcox

Mentor of the Year

Jennifer Harris, Clayton Utz

Kate Hay, Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Fay Calderone, DibbsBarker

Janine Gregory, Slater and Gordon Lawyers

Jane Hider, DLA Piper

Rebecca Dickson, Australia Pacific Airports (Melbourne)

Kathy Bogoyev, The Humanitarian Group

Clarissa Rayward, Brisbane Family Law Centre

Sharlene Wellard, Meridian Lawyers

Nikita Barsby, MDC Legal

Not-for-profit Lawyer of the Year

Monique Hurley, NAAJA

Jo-Anne Bragg, Environmental Defenders Office Queensland

Louisa McKimm, Immigration Advice and Rights Centre

Skye Worth, Gold Coast Community Legal Centre and Advice Bureau Inc.

Marnie Troeth, Karingal Inc.

Ella Crotty, Fitzroy Legal Service

Linda Saverimutto, Gosnells Community Legal Centre

Rose Rocca, GM LEGAL

Partner of the Year

Teresa Nicoletti, Piper Alderman

Amanda Banton, Squire Patton Boggs

Lisa Ritson, Ashurst

Anita Cade, Ashurst

Nikki Robinson, Clayton Utz

Louise Massey, Gadens

Diana Nicholson, King & Wood Mallesons

Shannon Platt, Sparke Helmore Lawyers

Colleen Platford, Gilbert + Tobin

Sandra Steele, K&L Gates

Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year

Sarah Morton-Ramwell, Ashurst

Rachael Murray, HopgoodGanim Lawyers

Brooke Massender, Herbert Smith Freehills

Heidi Nash-Smith, Wotton + Kearney

Amanda Ryding, Colin Biggers & Paisley

Anna Ross, Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Hayley Marano, Lander & Rogers

Paula Shelton, Shine Lawyers

Caitlin Walsh, Russell Kennedy

Amy Burton, Salvos Legal Humanitarian

Senior Associate of the Year

Eliza Blandford, Ashurst

Haley Aprile, Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Natasha Murgatroyd, Gadens

Rebecca Dunn, Gilbert + Tobin

Maria Yiasemides, Jones Day

Lana Remedi, Kennedys

Shabarika Ajitkumar, King & Wood Mallesons

Elizabeth Stary, Maddocks

Cassandra Heilbronn, MinterEllison

Zoë Justice, Norton Rose Fulbright

Sole Practitioner of the Year

Chrissy Leontios, CLEON Legal and Mediation Services

Jessica Kerr, Sinclair + May

Despina Priala, Priala Legal

Jacqui Brauman, TBA Law

Dorota Bryks, Bryks Lawyers

Special Counsel of the Year

Paula Robinson, MinterEllison

Amy Southwell, MinterEllison

Deanna McMaster, MinterEllison

Justine Stansen, K&L Gates

Katherine Armytage, DLA Piper

Alice Morrison, Ashurst

Rachel Sciascia, DibbsBarker

Georgina Hey, Norton Rose Fulbright

Jennifer Barron, Gilbert + Tobin

Prudence Smith, Jones Day

Thought Leader of the Year

Marina Kofman, Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration

Elspeth Hensler, Australian Women Lawyers

Bernadette Jew, Gilbert + Tobin

Ursula Hogben, LegalVision

Nancy Bryla, The Light Lawyer

Sarah Bartholomeusz, You Legal

Meda Royall, Your Law Firm

Clarissa Rayward, Brisbane Family Law Centre

Sarah Lynch, BucketOrange Magazine

Macaire Bromley, DibbsBarker

Young Gun of the Year

Penelope Ward, Clayton Utz

Charlotte Campbell, Maurice Blackburn Lawyers

Fiona David, DibbsBarker

Katherine O'Regan, Gadens

Gisele Vanderweerden, Ashurst

Jenny Leung, C.G. Gillis & Co.

Hannah Linossier, Piper Alderman

Aristea Friedrich, Colin Biggers & Paisley

Grace Hurley, Holding Redlich

Sarah Kaylinger, Thomson Geer

Women in Law Awards finalists revealed
Intro image
lawyersweekly logo