find the latest legal job
Part Time Risk & Compliance Officer
Category: Other | Location: Brisbane QLD 4000
· Brisbane City · Flexible Part Time Hours
View details
Infrastructure Lawyer/SA
Category: Construction Law | Location: Sydney CBD, Inner West & Eastern Suburbs Sydney NSW
· Global elite law firm · Dedicated Infrastructure team
View details
In-House Legal Counsel (Mid to Senior)| Regulated Markets (Energy and Gas)
Category: Generalists - In House | Location: Melbourne CBD & Inner Suburbs Melbourne VIC
· Full PD on Request · Exciting High Impact Role
View details
Family Lawyer
Category: Family Law | Location: Eastern Suburbs Melbourne VIC
· Boutique Firm · Great Reputation
View details
Infrastructure Lawyers
Category: Construction Law | Location: All Perth WA
· We'd be particularly interested to hear from you if you were a lawyer who knows your way around the infrastructure and energy sectors.
View details
Partner of the Year Awards judges revealed

Partner of the Year Awards judges revealed

POTY Awards

The judges for this year’s Lawyers Weekly Partner of the Year Awards have been announced.

Now in its second year, the Partner of the Year Awards recognises outstanding performance by partners in law firms across a range of categories.

This year there are a total of 23 categories, paying tribute to 23 of the best and brightest law firm partners in their area of expertise. 

A total of 25 judges (listed below) have been selected and given the task of reviewing the submissions, eventually selecting a winner for each category.

Winners will be announced at a black-tie dinner to be held at The Westin Sydney on 28 April 2017.

To purchase a ticket, click here.

To learn more about the event, click here.

The judges for the 2017 Partner of the Year Awards are:

Professor Michael Adams, dean of law, Western Sydney University

Will Alstergren, president, Australian Bar Association (VIC)

Kate Ashmor, principal and managing director, Ashmor Legal

Claire Bibby, senior vice president and general counsel, Brookfield

Raechelle Binny, general counsel of banking products and markets, NAB

Benedict Coyne, president, Australian Lawyers for Human Rights

Cameron Cross, general counsel - customer and commercial, NBN Co Limited

Norman Donato, president, The Commercial Law Association of Australia

Rebecca Edwards, general counsel, PAYCE Consolidated Limited

Justin Forsell, chief legal counsel and head of legal and security department, NBN Co Limited

Professor Sandeep Gopalan, dean and professor of law, Deakin University

Suzanne Greenwood, CEO, Catholic Health Australia

Iresha Herath, general counsel - legal services, Western Health

Dominique Hogan-Doran SC, senior counsel, Australian Bar

Ashe-Lee Jegathesan, general counsel and company secretary, Vocus

Tamara Kayser, group general counsel, Incitec Pivot Limited

Caroline Kirton QC, barrister and arbitrator (FCIArb, DiplCArb), Victorian Bar

Fiona McLeod SC, president, Law Council of Australia

Jane Needham SC, past president, NSW Bar Association

Greg Phelps, immediate past president, partner, Australian Lawyers Alliance, Ward Keller

Professor Michael Quinlan, dean of law, The University of Notre Dame Australia

Professor Rocque Reynolds, dean of law, Thomas More Law School, Australian Catholic University

Craig West, CEO and founder, Succession Plus

George Williams AO, dean, Anthony Mason Professor, Scientia Professor, UNSW Law

Belinda Wilson, president, Law Institute of Victoria

To learn more about our judges, click here.

Like this story? Read more:

QLS condemns actions of disgraced lawyer as ‘stain on the profession’

NSW proposes big justice reforms to target risk of reoffending

The legal budget breakdown 2017

Partner of the Year Awards judges revealed
lawyersweekly logo
Promoted content
Recommended by Spike Native Network
more from lawyers weekly
Law Council of Australia
Nov 21 2017
LCA calls for urgent adoption of ‘game-changing’ recommendation
The Law Council of Australia has urged for the immediate adoption of a key recommendation put forwar...
Sally Wheeler
Nov 20 2017
ANU College of Law appoints new dean
A distinguished legal academic and the former head of law of a higher education institution in Irela...
Nov 17 2017
It's time for politicians to commit to eradicating domestic violence
The national shame of domestic violence cannot be left unaddressed, writes Christine Smyth. ...
Allens managing partner Richard Spurio, image courtesy Allens' website
Jun 21 2017
Promo season at Allens
A group of lawyers at Allens have received promotions across its PNG and Australian offices. ...
May 11 2017
Partner exits for in-house role
A Victorian lawyer has left the partnership of a national firm to start a new gig with state governm...
Esteban Gomez
May 11 2017
National firm recruits ‘major asset’
A national law firm has announced it has appointed a new corporate partner who brings over 15 years'...
Nicole Rich
May 16 2017
Access to justice for young transgender Australians
Reform is looming for the process that young transgender Australians and their families must current...
Geoff Roberson
May 11 2017
The lighter side of the law: when law and comedy collide
On the face of it, there doesn’t seem to be much that is amusing about the law, writes Geoff Rober...
May 10 2017
Advocate’s immunity – without fear or without favour but not both
On 29 March 2017, the High Court handed down its decision in David Kendirjian v Eugene Lepore & ...