Goodbye job applications, hello dream career
Seize control of your career and design the future you deserve with LW career

This year’s 30 Under 30 finalists revealed

The finalists for Lawyers Weekly’s 30 Under 30 Awards have been announced.

user iconEmma Musgrave 09 May 2017 Corporate Counsel
lawuyers weekly 30 under 30 2017 finalists revealed
expand image

This year received the highest submissions for the event ever, attracting young guns from firms of all sizes and areas of expertise.

Each of the 15 major categories asked entrants to submit their work over the past 12 months, their leadership within the firm and their contributions to the legal sector. 

A panel of high-profile judges will select two winners for each category, which will be announced at a cocktail event at The Ivy Ballroom, Sydney on 23 June. 


The event aims to recognise Australia’s brightest young lawyers, with the eventual winners representing some of the up-and-comers who are making a true impact on the profession early on in their careers. 

Event partners include Taylor Root, UNSW Law and Momentum Intelligence.

To learn more about the event, click here.

To purchase tickets, click here.

The finalists for the 2017 30 Under 30 are:

Banking and Finance

Rod Aldus, Allens

Michelle Guy, McCullough Robertson

Bryce Clarke, Australian Securities & Investments Commission

Alistair Green, Squire Patton Boggs

Matthew Hannam, DWF LLP

Sian McLachlan, King & Wood Mallesons

Jodie Partridge, DibbsBarker

Ben Robinson, Herbert Smith Freehills

Rob Scutella, Gilbert + Tobin

Tara Senaratne, Hall & Wilcox


Matthew Burge, Gadens

David Foong, Clayton Utz

Yixin Gong, King & Wood Mallesons

Eugene McAuley, McCarthy Durie Lawyers

Lara Nurpuri, Slater and Gordon Lawyers

Akshaya Ravi, Macpherson Kelley Lawyers

Ben Robinson, Herbert Smith Freehills

James Skelton, Swaab Attorneys

Carina Zeccola, Griffin Legal

Amy Zhang, Harmers Workplace Lawyers

Construction and Real Estate

Jenna Adamson, MinterEllison

Aimee Allan, King & Wood Mallesons

Fiona David, DibbsBarker

Kerrie Duong, Baker McKenzie

Kimberley Lean, Herbert Smith Freehills

Andrew MacGillivray, Piper Alderman

Ben Malone, Massons

Danielle Monti, K&L Gates LLP

Rachel Richardson, Clayton Utz

Louise Young, MinterEllison

Corporate Counsel

Alex Butterworth, McDonald's Australia Limited

Bryce Clarke, Australian Securities & Investments Commission

Alison Cusack, ANL Container Line Pty Ltd

Kendra Fouracre, Telstra

Theo Kapodistrias, University of Tasmania

Alison Lyons, City of Parramatta Council

Lisa Nguyen, American Express Australia Limited

Haylen Pong, Salmat 

Julia Scott, Gilbert + Tobin

Bianca Xerri, Suncorp Group

Dispute Resolution

Dean Alexander, Mills Oakley

Iva Bacvic, Herbert Smith Freehills

Amelia Edwards, Herbert Smith Freehills

Aleksandra Ilic, King & Wood Mallesons

Jonathon Lean, Aitken Partners

Joshua Ehrenfeld, Gilbert + Tobin

Melinda Ranson, Merthyr Law

Millie Richmond-Scott, MinterEllison

Stipe Vuleta, Chamberlains Law Firm

Matthew Williams, HW Litigation


Ciara Daly, Aboriginal Legal Service (ALS)

Eleanor Douglas, Pace Lawyers and Adelaide Legal

Daniel Hallam, Bluewater Lawyers

Tina Lee, KCL Law

Katherine Marshall, Best Wilson Buckley Family Law

Alexandra Metherell, Tisher Liner FC Law

Chloe Rattray, Lander & Rogers

Phillip Ridgway, Phillips Family Law

Jessica Wolski, Mazengarb Family Lawyers

Miranda Woodland, TASC National


Natasha Apostolov, DLA Piper

Bryce Clarke, Australian Securities & Investments Commission

Ashley Burgess, Sparke Helmore Lawyers

Laura Hillhouse, Ashurst 

Nicole Maddocks, DLA Piper

Marlowe Mitchell, Herbert Smith Freehills

Simon Moses, MinterEllison

Jeffrey Sheehy, DLA Piper

Emily Sims, Judicial Conduct Commissioner (SA)

Ada Wong, Mills Oakley


Daniel Bunoza, MinterEllison

Peter Craney, Kennedys

Blake Egelton, Clyde & Co

Sach Fernando, Zaparas Lawyers

Anna Gudkov, Norton Rose Fulbright 

Benjamin Hine, DLA Piper

George Ioannidis, Hall & Wilcox

Naazihah Jamal, Gilchrist Connell

Laoise O'Connor, Barry.Nilsson. Lawyers

Jacob Redden, Gilchrist Connell

Intellectual Property

Maggie Chan, King & Wood Mallesons

Rhiannon Fletcher, Page Seager

Luke Hawthorne, King & Wood Mallesons

Sheree O'Dwyer, Griffith Hack

Peter Pereira, Gilbert + Tobin

Alyson Poole, Norton Rose Fulbright

Brett Shandler, DLA Piper

James Skelton, Swaab Attorneys

Jaimie Wolbers, K&L Gates LLP

Sandy Zhang, Bennett & Philp Lawyers

Mergers and Acquisitions

Venkatesh Ananthakrishnan, Thomson Geer

Naomi Benton, McCullough Robertson Lawyers

Stephanie Glover, DLA Piper

Wendy Hsu, Gilbert + Tobin

John Karantonis, Clayton Utz

Mitchell Kelly, Norton Rose Fulbright

Claire Koller-Smith, Herbert Smith Freehills

Joanna Lawrence, Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Ben Stewart, Squire Patton Boggs

Apoorva Suryaprakash, Allens

Pro Bono

Danielle Barry, Clayton Utz

David Burke, Lander & Rogers

Amy Burton, Salvos Legal Humanitarian

Kate McKenzie, DLA Piper

Emile McPhee, McCullough Robertson Lawyers

Daniel Meyerowitz-Katz, Levitt Robinson Solicitors

Claire Toner, King & Wood Mallesons

Patrick Turner, Maurice Blackburn Lawyers

Alicia Wells, Henry Davis York Lawyers

Amy Zhang, Harmers Workplace Lawyers

Projects, Energy and Resources

Rupert Baker, Herbert Smith Freehills

Thomas Bramah, Norton Rose Fulbright

Rebecca Dunlop, DLA Piper

Faith Laube, Colin Biggers & Paisley

Kate McLean, Clayton Utz

Meg Morgan, McCullough Robertson Lawyers

Ellie Mulholland, Allens

Lauren Murphy, King & Wood Mallesons

Anthony Pizzolato, Ashurst

Cassandra Wee, Ashurst


Julie Abdalla, MinterEllison

Rebecca Clarke, MinterEllison

Amanda Comelli, Brown Wright Stein Lawyers

Caroline Ee, McInnes Wilson Lawyers

Mary Hu, Greenwoods and Herbert Smith Freehills

Luke Imbriano, Deloitte Lawyers

Amanda Kazacos, King & Wood Mallesons

Rachel Law, Hall & Wilcox

Ryan Leslie, Greenwoods and Herbert Smith Freehills

Aimee Riley, Thomson Geer

Technology, Media and Telecommunications

Elyse Adams, Allens

Jasveen (Alisha) Ali, NEXTDC Ltd

Simone Blackadder, Baker McKenzie

Claire Burke, Baker McKenzie

Amelia Edwards, KHQ Lawyers

James Majarich, MinterEllison

Alexander Maschmedt, King & Wood Mallesons

William McCullough, McCullough Robertson Lawyers

Louisa Mulquiney, Gilbert + Tobin

Verity Stone, HopgoodGanim Lawyers

Workplace Relations, Employment and Safety

Phoebe Blank, McKean Park Lawyers

Josephine Hart, HopgoodGanim Lawyers

Emily Lupo, Maurice Blackburn Lawyers

Amanda Lyras, Herbert Smith Freehills

Philippa Noakes, Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Mark Norman, Dentons

Haren Pararajasingham, United Voice NSW

Dean Tolkin, Sasphire Legal and Keypoint Law

Patrick Turner, Maurice Blackburn Lawyers

Amy Zhang, Harmers Workplace Lawyers

You need to be a member to post comments. Become a member for free today!